DipTrace 4.1 release

News from developer. Also post info about new articles, tutorials, conferences, etc.
Message
Author
Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1746
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#21 Post by Tomg » 08 Feb 2021, 09:19

Thanks for the quick update.

As an aside, I thought you might want to know that the Windows10 uninstaller failed to remove the "router64" folder (C:\Program Files\DipTrace\router64) and two of its files: "router64.dll" and "RouteServices.exe". This may have somehow contributed to the autorouter failure we discussed earlier in this thread.
Tom

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#22 Post by novarm44 » 12 Feb 2021, 03:27

Tomg wrote:
08 Feb 2021, 09:19
Thanks for the quick update.

As an aside, I thought you might want to know that the Windows10 uninstaller failed to remove the "router64" folder (C:\Program Files\DipTrace\router64) and two of its files: "router64.dll" and "RouteServices.exe". This may have somehow contributed to the autorouter failure we discussed earlier in this thread.
These files should be run before uninstall to unregister auto-router. I suppose this is the reason why they were not removed automatically by QInstall.
Also we have published list of fixed bugs: https://diptrace.com/docs/fixes4_1.pdf

fbabicc
Posts: 1
Joined: 12 Feb 2021, 20:12

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#23 Post by fbabicc » 12 Feb 2021, 20:17

How to disable the new "align components and texts by other components and texts" feature?

Thanks in advance.

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#24 Post by novarm44 » 13 Feb 2021, 12:32

fbabicc wrote:
12 Feb 2021, 20:17
How to disable the new "align components and texts by other components and texts" feature?

Thanks in advance.
It is not possible yet - seems all customers like this feature (to the moment :) ). We have tried to make minimum snap area to be able to align objects and at the same time do not limit precise placement. However if it doesn't allow to make some things of just annoying, we can make an option to turn it off (hotkey or settings tab where you can choose what objects to snap) in minor update (4.1.0.2).

Regards!

diptracer
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Nov 2017, 02:59

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#25 Post by diptracer » 14 Feb 2021, 11:44

novarm44 wrote:
08 Feb 2021, 08:55
We have updated DipTrace to version 4.1.0.1 today.
Hello,

BTW: Any update to the ticket for the PDIF importer (schematic and PCB) which doesn't complete or is buggy.
See DT-6590 PDIF import - currently very buggy
Last information was: We will re-test PCAD PDIF import before releasing new version.
Submitted a lot of test data and can test some old files.

BTW2: Jira is not reachable anymore. How to login again?

Thnx.

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#26 Post by novarm44 » 14 Feb 2021, 11:51

diptracer wrote:
14 Feb 2021, 11:44
BTW: Any update to the ticket for the PDIF importer which doesn't complete or is buggy.
See DT-6590 PDIF import - currently very buggy
Last information was: We will re-test PCAD PDIF import before releasing new version.

BTW2: Jira is not reachable anymore. How to login again?
The ticket system is now located at https://support.diptrace.online
However the database of Jira should be available.
I will ask our staff regarding this ticket.

diptracer
Posts: 4
Joined: 02 Nov 2017, 02:59

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#27 Post by diptracer » 14 Feb 2021, 12:00

novarm44 wrote:
14 Feb 2021, 11:51
The ticket system is now located at https://support.diptrace.online
However the database of Jira should be available.
I will ask our staff regarding this ticket.
Great to hear.

I know that new Jira location. Can't login with known credentials and for password recovery my E-Mail is not known.

Thnx.

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#28 Post by novarm44 » 14 Feb 2021, 12:23

diptracer wrote:
14 Feb 2021, 12:00
Great to hear.
I know that new Jira location. Can't login with known credentials and for password recovery my E-Mail is not known.
Thnx.
That is not Jira, but completely new custom made system.
Jira is still available at its old address: https://diptracesupport.online - you can login and see your tickets there, but our staff do not check new tickets in it already and it doesn't send email notifications.

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#29 Post by novarm44 » 15 Feb 2021, 04:11

diptracer wrote:
14 Feb 2021, 11:44
BTW: Any update to the ticket for the PDIF importer (schematic and PCB) which doesn't complete or is buggy.
See DT-6590 PDIF import - currently very buggy
Last information was: We will re-test PCAD PDIF import before releasing new version.
Submitted a lot of test data and can test some old files.
Regarding PDIF - I have investigated the ticket, not just last message.
Unfortunately this task is not our priority: the format is very outdated and is not widely used already, polishing it is quite time-consuming task. Also format has unresolvable limitations and even Windows P-CAD does not import it 100% correctly. Current high-priority task with formats is making usable and clear for user XML format instead of existing DipTrace ASCII.
We will check PDIF in the latest version (4.1) and temporarily turn it off in the next build if it is completely unusable for new DT object structures. We can return to PDIF in the future though, but I can not specify exact time for that. I apologize for such reply, but this is honest.
Also we still support and fix issues in P-CAD ASCII format, so probably it is possible to convert PDIF to P-CAD ASCII with some third-party software which imports PDIF better and then to DipTrace.

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 571
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: DipTrace 4.1 release

#30 Post by KevinA » 15 Feb 2021, 04:26

Something new in 4.1.0.1
New component does not show pad numbers. I can create a component and the pad numbers are on but don't show in Component Editor, place the component in schematic still no pin numbers, mouse over a pin, it shows the pin number. Parts already created show pin numbers.
This is bad.

Post Reply