PCB Editor - Editing Component Silk without having to "Ungroup Component"

Post your feature requests here. Please use search function to ensure it is not here yet.
Post Reply
Message
Author
SoundMod
Posts: 72
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 12:47

PCB Editor - Editing Component Silk without having to "Ungroup Component"

#1 Post by SoundMod » 21 Dec 2020, 10:01

IMHO the following should be reworked or at least fixed in some way.

Sometime in a design you want to fix issue with the silk layer, example you want to make a silk line shorter because a via is in or move the pin 1 (dot) because its fall in a via space.

Unfortunately, the only way we can do that is by;

Option 1:
a) Use the Ungroup Component to its individual pads and shapes
b) Edit the object to be modified
c) Regroup the pad and shape to component

Issue:
As soon as you use "Ungroup Component" you lose all parameter (RefDes, Name, Value, Additional Field).
When regrouped into a component you cannot use the "Update from library" to load back only the component parameter (RefDes, Name, Value, ...).
The only option is to manually type in the lost parameters.

Option 2:
a) Create a new footprint and edit the current footprint in the Pattern Editor
b) Update in the component editor if needed
c) Update in the PCB Editor

Issue:
This work fine but you don't always want to create a component footprint variant.

Both of these method becomes inneficient at some point.

My solution;
We can already move text using "F10", we can adjust the size of a pads easily, so make edition (move, resize, rotate, delete) of "footprint shapes" also possible on the silk layer.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3532
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: PCB Editor - Editing Component Silk without having to "Ungroup Component"

#2 Post by Alex » 10 Feb 2021, 04:34

Thank you for the request. We will consider editing component silkscreen without having to ungroup component in PCB Layout. The only concern is what to do during renewing board from schematic.

SoundMod
Posts: 72
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 12:47

Re: PCB Editor - Editing Component Silk without having to "Ungroup Component"

#3 Post by SoundMod » 10 Feb 2021, 22:38

Alex wrote:
10 Feb 2021, 04:34
Thank you for the request. We will consider editing component silkscreen without having to ungroup component in PCB Layout. The only concern is what to do during renewing board from schematic.
Oh that's right I did not think to that detail.
When renewing schematic, if there is discrepancies between the pcb and the schematic there is the popup window showing up and asking to choose if net or footprint/3D model should be taken from the schematic or the pcb.
Then, I will suggest that maybe you could use a similar method for objects on the silkscreen?

Post Reply