Snap to grid issue

Report bugs here
Post Reply
Message
Author
friesen
Posts: 70
Joined: 08 Nov 2010, 16:48

Snap to grid issue

#1 Post by friesen » 28 Jul 2012, 18:33

In the component editor, if the grid is set to .025 inch, and a pin moved .025 from center, then the grid set to .05 inches, the part will snap to grid .025 off.

I believe the other editors (PCB, schematic) have this same problem.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3502
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Snap to grid issue

#2 Post by Alex » 30 Jul 2012, 07:51

I don't understand the problem. Do you mean that the part doesn't snap to bigger grid?

friesen
Posts: 70
Joined: 08 Nov 2010, 16:48

Re: Snap to grid issue

#3 Post by friesen » 01 Aug 2012, 18:27

Yes, but not correctly. If you place 2 parts on a small grid, and one part gets half a grid off, you can't align them if you make the grid larger. You first have to downsize the grid, line up the parts, and up-size the grid, which I hope isn't by design.

lindquist
Posts: 45
Joined: 22 Oct 2011, 17:58

Re: Snap to grid issue

#4 Post by lindquist » 02 Aug 2012, 08:52

I've always assumed this to be a feature (correct me if I'm wrong!).

Basically the grid size does not specify what pins/origin snap to, but rather the minimum amount which can be moved.
I use this quite often when creating a pattern. Changing the grid-size, then moving said distance using the arrow keys. If it behaved like you expect, that would not be possible. Not sure which is best really.

I think I would personally prefer to have it stay as it is, and then have a separate function to force a component to align to the grid.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3502
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Snap to grid issue

#5 Post by Alex » 02 Aug 2012, 09:18

I see what you mean. I don't think it is big problem, but we will consider it with our team.

evanh
Posts: 44
Joined: 20 Jun 2012, 11:14

Re: Snap to grid issue

#6 Post by evanh » 18 Jan 2014, 19:47

Looks to be working along with other component and track snapping problems also. I'd stopped using DipTrace and hadn't even noticed these fixes previously.

fluxanode
Posts: 88
Joined: 28 Feb 2014, 21:15

Re: Snap to grid issue

#7 Post by fluxanode » 23 Mar 2021, 14:46

This is still an issue in Schematics 4.1.0.1. The snap should always be a snap to the nearest grid point no matter the grid setting. Maybe this could be an option to turn on or off.

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 564
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: Snap to grid issue

#8 Post by KevinA » 24 Mar 2021, 00:47

V4.1.2.0
Clean schematic, place one +5 port at 0.05" grid (standard for Imperial 8X11 paper). Turn grid OFF, place several +5 ports, none on grid. Turn grid on, snap on, try to move an off grid +5 port and it snaps to the closest point on grid from where it started or relative grid snap. Select that +5 port and right click, select snap grid and it snaps to the absolute .05" grid. Select all the other off grid ports and right click snap grid, they all jump on the nearest .05" absolute grid. This is a good feature when you understand it. Because they have not labeled snaps "Relative" or "Absolute" makes it confusing, if you screw up and build a component off grid and when you try to wire it in schematic it will drive you bonkers.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply