Pour Clearance, Netclass Clearance in DRC

Report bugs here
Post Reply
Message
Author
PaulNewf
Posts: 51
Joined: 20 Jan 2016, 08:33

Pour Clearance, Netclass Clearance in DRC

#1 Post by PaulNewf » 25 Feb 2021, 10:57

Bug or Feature Request - Given how it has bitten us a few times I'm feeling bug.

The Checkbox "Use Net Clearance" in "Copper pour Properties" causes the specified clearance to be ignored, and instead use each net's clearance (but it doesn't gray out Clearance when ignoring it).

Please fix to use the larger of Net Clearance and the specified Pour Clearance.
i.e. if Pour Clearance is 0.4mm and Netclass Clearance is 0.2, then use 0.2 when checking that net
i.e. if Pour Clearance is 0.4mm and Netclass Clearance is 0.6, then use 0.6 when checking that net
If user wishes to use only Net Clearance they can set pour Clearance to 0.
If user wishes to use only Pour Clearance they can disable the checkbox (not recommended).

This fix goes with: Netclass: "Use Clearance in DRC" should default to ON for all new netclasses and new designs
- otherwise what is the point of specifying a netclass clearance at all?).
- Every single new person here messes this up, and proficient users sometimes get bitten when they forget to set this (me included).

Paul

PaulNewf
Posts: 51
Joined: 20 Jan 2016, 08:33

Re: Pour Clearance, Netclass Clearance in DRC

#2 Post by PaulNewf » 25 Feb 2021, 12:17

Fixed Typo at i.e. 0.4mm

Bug or Feature Request - Given how it has bitten us a few times I'm feeling bug.

The Checkbox "Use Net Clearance" in "Copper pour Properties" causes the specified clearance to be ignored, and instead use each net's clearance (but it doesn't gray out Clearance when ignoring it).

Please fix to use the larger of Net Clearance and the specified Pour Clearance.
i.e. if Pour Clearance is 0.4mm and Netclass Clearance is 0.2, then use 0.4 when checking that net
i.e. if Pour Clearance is 0.4mm and Netclass Clearance is 0.6, then use 0.6 when checking that net
If user wishes to use only Net Clearance they can set pour Clearance to 0.
If user wishes to use only Pour Clearance they can disable the checkbox (not recommended).

This fix goes with: Netclass: "Use Clearance in DRC" should default to ON for all new netclasses and new designs
- otherwise what is the point of specifying a netclass clearance at all?).
- Every single new person here messes this up, and proficient users sometimes get bitten when they forget to set this (me included).

Paul

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3501
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Pour Clearance, Netclass Clearance in DRC

#3 Post by Alex » 26 Feb 2021, 09:47

Please try the latest build (4.1.1.0), we have fixed copper pour clearance when use net clearance option turned on.

PaulNewf
Posts: 51
Joined: 20 Jan 2016, 08:33

Re: Pour Clearance, Netclass Clearance in DRC

#4 Post by PaulNewf » 26 Feb 2021, 12:54

Works great, thank you
Paul

whitebream
Posts: 3
Joined: 20 Feb 2014, 13:04

Re: Pour Clearance, Netclass Clearance in DRC

#5 Post by whitebream » 26 Mar 2021, 21:29

The problem appears to be back in 4.1.2.0.
Clearance of copper pour is ignored when updating.
Although the DRC does note the issue and complains.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3501
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: Pour Clearance, Netclass Clearance in DRC

#6 Post by Alex » 29 Mar 2021, 08:54

The problem should be fixed in 4.1.2.0. If not, please send board file for verification.

Post Reply