4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

Report bugs here
Post Reply
Message
Author
nqtronix
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Aug 2020, 02:56

4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

#1 Post by nqtronix » 09 Aug 2020, 04:36

I recently upgraded to DipTrace4 and wanted to use the IPC Pattern generator to generate 3D models for my existing custom patterns. My custom footprints are optimized for my (semi-manual) assembly process and to archive a high component density despite cheap PCB specifications. The easy-to-use footprint editor is one of my favorite features in DipTrace as it gives me the freedom to do just that.

I tried the following:
1. Select pattern style "IPC-7351", launch the pattern editor and enter all values as needed.
2. Check the "3D Model..." button, the shown preview is correct.
3. Make some minor modification, ie. shift one (or both) pad by 0.05mm
4. Check the 3D model again, now the model is broken. All modified pads have their 3D-model pin removed.

In the Recovery Code menu both boxes are checked. Whats more, editing the footprint does not change the recovery code, so technically it has all information it needs to generate the model, right? I've tested rotating or re-sizing the pad, it does not influence the pattern generation.

I can not think of a use case where removing the pin after editing would be a useful feature. If one wants to remove a specific pin (ie. for some 7-pin high voltage SOIC parts), one would remove the pad completely. For this reason I consider this behavior a bug, and at least to me it makes the IPC calculator almost useless as I like to customize all my footprints.

- Dennis

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3501
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: 4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

#2 Post by Alex » 11 Aug 2020, 08:49

Thank you for the report. We will consider this issue. But you can edit pattern dimensions in IPC-7351 Pattern Generator under "Use Pattern Dimensions Recommended by Manufacturer" to avoid further moving or editing pads.

nqtronix
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Aug 2020, 02:56

Re: 4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

#3 Post by nqtronix » 12 Aug 2020, 05:57

Thanks Alex, "Use Pattern Dimensions Recommended by Manufacturer" should be acceptable for most common footprints, especially because all other layers can be editied without issues.

The only downsode is that a manufacture must be selected, which is inconvenient for generic parts like resistors, capacitors, chip inductors and simple semiconductors with standardized footprints. Is it safe to rename the footprint after creation?

Edit: Just checked, pad properties/shape can edited as well. It just can not be moved at all.

SoundMod
Posts: 72
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 12:47

Re: 4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

#4 Post by SoundMod » 18 Aug 2020, 09:27

Just an observation I did.
And to me looks like a bug.

Let's say;
  1. I generate a footprint (let's say an SOIC-8) with the IPC generator and I use the 3D model generated from it.
  2. But after generating the footprint I realize that I set an incorrect orientation for the footprint.
  3. So I select ALL the object on every layers of the footprint and make a simple group rotation to correct the orientation.
  4. Ok everything is fine the footprint is now in its correct orientation.
  5. However, now if you look the 3D model from the IPC the 3D model is broken.
Before_Rotation.JPG
After_Rotation.JPG
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Serg
Technical Support
Posts: 412
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 08:12

Re: 4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

#5 Post by Serg » 20 Aug 2020, 06:52

SoundMod wrote:
18 Aug 2020, 09:27
Just an observation I did.
And to me looks like a bug.

Let's say;
  1. I generate a footprint (let's say an SOIC-8) with the IPC generator and I use the 3D model generated from it.
  2. But after generating the footprint I realize that I set an incorrect orientation for the footprint.
  3. So I select ALL the object on every layers of the footprint and make a simple group rotation to correct the orientation.
  4. Ok everything is fine the footprint is now in its correct orientation.
  5. However, now if you look the 3D model from the IPC the 3D model is broken.
We will try to fix this issue.
Now, to work around the problem you can use:
- main menu "Rotate Pattern" instead "Rotate Group"
or
- rotate the pattern in Pattern Generator (Component Options - General - Pin 1 Orientation).

SoundMod
Posts: 72
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 12:47

Re: 4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

#6 Post by SoundMod » 20 Aug 2020, 11:38

Ok no problem not a big issue.

Thanks and have a nice day

SoundMod
Posts: 72
Joined: 15 Feb 2016, 12:47

Re: 4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

#7 Post by SoundMod » 21 Aug 2020, 11:40

I did try to repoduce it !
But wasn't able too.

Maybe the fact that my PC has been shutdown in between both attempt is the reason why I can't reproduce it.
Anyway I'll keep watching.

nqtronix
Posts: 7
Joined: 09 Aug 2020, 02:56

Re: 4.0.0.5 IPC7351 generated 3D models broken after footprint is edited

#8 Post by nqtronix » 29 Mar 2021, 12:49

Fixed in 4.1, issue closed!

To keep all pins, just select "Kepp All Model Pins" in the 3D preview window.
Screenshot 2021-03-29 184409.png
Thanks to the team for including this feature!
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply