PCB: F12

Post your feature requests here. Please use search function to ensure it is not here yet.
Post Reply
Message
Author
prst
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Aug 2016, 13:03
Location: Ukraine

PCB: F12

#1 Post by prst » 26 Sep 2019, 04:28

Hi,
I would like to ask developers of DipTrace a quiestion, the one which disturb every time.
Can you please explain, why in 'PCB layout' routine is need to press every time key F12 to update, for optimized path?
Why it not implemented as pooling in automatic mode?
It look like, not should be to hard for performance of system, to be run in background every 1...3 seconds (more better if user can set desired time, in setting to project or program, or when program detect changes in PCB, or before/after save)
Or may be it is already implemented (not obviously) and possible to use it?
So, please explain how. All my friends and me did search and didn't find.
Hope that exist simple solution, or... please apply this question as neccesary task to implement in new version.
Thanks.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3501
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: PCB: F12

#2 Post by Alex » 27 Sep 2019, 08:55

The reason of not optimizing ratlines automatically is saving CPU time. That may be a problem on complex boards. We will consider an option to turn on/off automatic ratline optimization if users request the option frequently.

prst
Posts: 5
Joined: 30 Aug 2016, 13:03
Location: Ukraine

Re: PCB: F12

#3 Post by prst » 24 Feb 2020, 08:35

At this moment, possible to download "DipTrace 4.0 Beta Freeware"
It is sad, looks like, wasn`t implemented the improvement which here in discussion.
Or exist improvements, so, how it possible to check?

Serg
Technical Support
Posts: 409
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 08:12

Re: PCB: F12

#4 Post by Serg » 24 Feb 2020, 10:10

In DipTrace 4.0 beta this option isn't implemented.

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 564
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: PCB: F12

#5 Post by KevinA » 24 Feb 2020, 13:24

I too would like a 'Preference' page full of things each user prefers, I've turned the speakers off on the beta since it seems to want to drive me insane with sound, it would be a good thing if we could disable sound prompts and just use the window pop up. Note: I just walked thru all the 'sounds' in Windows and found 'Exclamation' as the noisy one, changed it to 'Windows Information Bar', 'Windows Information Bar' doesn't wake the dead.

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3501
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: PCB: F12

#6 Post by Alex » 25 Feb 2020, 10:25

We will check when beeps are generated in the beta version and consider turning off the sound when DipTrace shows warnings and window popups. Thank you.

Post Reply