Component Editor and Layers

Making your own components and patterns, organizing and using libraries.
Post Reply
Message
Author
fcwilt
Posts: 5
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 22:26
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA, USA

Component Editor and Layers

#1 Post by fcwilt » 12 Oct 2019, 21:33

Hi,

I searched the DipTrace help but cannot find the answer.

When creating a new component every time I add a pin or add, say, a shape a new layer is created.

What is the purpose of these layers?

Thanks.

Frederick

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1523
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Component Editor and Layers

#2 Post by Tomg » 13 Oct 2019, 09:19

That is a legacy feature which is scheduled to be eliminated in the soon-to-be-introduced version 4. Many users don't care for the old Pattern Editor "logical layers" configuration as it is very limited in its usefulness. The updated program is purported to make the Pattern Editor look and behave more like the PCB Layout editor when it comes to handling true layers. See this thread for a list of the upcoming improvements - viewtopic.php?f=20&t=12507&start=76
Tom

fcwilt
Posts: 5
Joined: 03 Sep 2016, 22:26
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA, USA

Re: Component Editor and Layers

#3 Post by fcwilt » 13 Oct 2019, 09:45

Thanks much.

Frederick

Post Reply