align objects - can one object be set as reference?

Making your own components and patterns, organizing and using libraries.
Post Reply
Message
Author
Moris
Posts: 69
Joined: 01 Oct 2012, 16:35
Location: Switzerland

align objects - can one object be set as reference?

#1 Post by Moris » 20 Oct 2017, 08:27

in patter editor I select mulitple patterns and select aligne objects, ok.
Now the patterns are aligned, but the pattern that should not move (reference) moved.
Locking the reference pattern didn't help!
Grid on or off does not seem to have an impact.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1542
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: align objects - can one object be set as reference?

#2 Post by Tomg » 20 Oct 2017, 08:35

The object that you right-click on to access the Align Objects... tool in the pop-up menu will become the reference.
Tom

Moris
Posts: 69
Joined: 01 Oct 2012, 16:35
Location: Switzerland

Re: align objects - can one object be set as reference?

#3 Post by Moris » 20 Oct 2017, 08:47

Thanks Tom,

that works if alignement is made to center (not top, even all patterns in this case have the same dimensions)

;)

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1542
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: align objects - can one object be set as reference?

#4 Post by Tomg » 20 Oct 2017, 11:00

I guess the Align Objects dialog is a little ambiguous. If the Align By options were re-worded as shown in the example below then perhaps their functions would become clear?...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

User avatar
KevinA
Posts: 478
Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35

Re: align objects - can one object be set as reference?

#5 Post by KevinA » 20 Oct 2017, 11:33

" little ambiguous "
I'd say a 'little ambiguous' is an understatement.
Replacing the function description just made Align usable since beating it into place with trial and error sucks.

The Help doesn't mention how to set an object as the reference object or from what I can tell the only way being to select all objects then mouse over the object you want as the reference object and Right Click, no means to set which object is the reference using the Edit/Align Objects menu.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1542
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: align objects - can one object be set as reference?

#6 Post by Tomg » 20 Oct 2017, 11:47

Maybe there shouldn't be an "Align By" choice at all. Maybe it should always use the object that was right-clicked on. Is there any logical reason for using the other options? If a second choice is needed, how about this example...
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

Post Reply