Schematic to PCB 220923

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
Post Reply
Message
Author
allenpitts
Posts: 43
Joined: 29 Sep 2017, 20:03

Schematic to PCB 220923

#1 Post by allenpitts » 23 Sep 2022, 14:36

Hello DipTrace Forum,

Have created dozens of PCB using the PCB Layout tool
but have not created a PCB by converting a schematic
to a PCB.

Have drawn a schematic attached herewith.

When, in the File menu, the Convert to PCB
option is clicked DipTrace returns:
"Components B1 and VO1 don't have patterns.
The schematic can be converted to the board incorrectly!

How to provide pattern for the Components?

Thanks.

Allen Pitts
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1910
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Schematic to PCB 220923

#2 Post by Tomg » 23 Sep 2022, 17:10

B1...
Best practices require attaching the pattern to the component (must be in a User Components library) using the Component Editor and then resaving that library. Finally, go back to the schematic and update the component (right-click on it, choose Update from Library > Selected Components). Now when you use the same component in another schematic, it will already have the pattern attached to it.

If you need to attach a pattern to the battery using the Schematic Editor, right-click on it and choose "Attached Pattern..." in the context menu to bring up the Attached Pattern dialog window. In the Attached Pattern dialog window set the Pattern Libraries drop-list to "Patterns", scroll down the pattern libraries list and select/highlight the "Batteries" library, select/highlight a suitable pattern in the Patterns list, make sure the component's pins are properly connected to the selected pattern's pads and click on the [OK] button...

PIR1...
First you will have to turn the pins around using the Component Editor because the pins' connection squares should be pointing away from (outside) the component outline...
HC2.png
Note the recommended 0.1" spacing of the pins. This will make life easier when drawing a schematic as, typically, the schematic grid will be set to 0.1" (or 0.05" if smaller movements are necessary). Things should readily snap into place when positioning components and connecting wires to pins.

Since you will be turning the pins around in the Component Editor anyway, you might as well attach a pattern to it while you're there (it must be a User Components library). Don't forget to resave the component library and then update the component in the schematic.

p.s. Reorder the pins and rename them as shown and make sure pins 1 & 3 are "Power" pins so the ERC (Electrical Rule Check in the Schematic Editor) will pass.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

allenpitts
Posts: 43
Joined: 29 Sep 2017, 20:03

Re: Schematic to PCB 220923

#3 Post by allenpitts » 27 Sep 2022, 14:57

Hello Tomg and the DipTrace Forum,

The info on connecting Patterns to Components is very much appreciated.
Trying not to make the Forum my personal tutor. Have just about
memorized the tutorial found at
https://diptrace.com/books/tutorial.pdf
This tutorial is great but it sort of jumps into details before
providing the big picture. For instance, it might be good to
indicate that Schematics require Components and Components
require Patterns.
Also the info on Libraries is confusing and hard to apply.
(Sorry about the negative feedback.)

Through your excellent post Patterns have been attached
to the Components. And the pins on the PIR have been reversed.

But when the old component in the schematic is removed
and a new HC_SR501 component placed the pins are still
pointing in. Saving the Component was tried a couple
of times but the old pin placement persists.

Thanks.

Allen Pitts
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1910
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Schematic to PCB 220923

#4 Post by Tomg » 27 Sep 2022, 17:18

Your schematic seems to be looking for the component in the user component library "C:\Users\Allen Pitts\Documents\DipTrace\My Libraries\200408.eli", but it appears the new component has been stored in a library named "Alpha Copy". Has the new component been inserted into the original library in place of the original yet?
Tom

allenpitts
Posts: 43
Joined: 29 Sep 2017, 20:03

Re: Schematic to PCB 220923

#5 Post by allenpitts » 28 Sep 2022, 07:45

Hello Tomg and the DipTrace Forum,

'Has the new component been inserted into the original library in place of the original yet?'

Question One
Not sure where the new component exists and where the original (I assume original component.)
is for the replacement to be made.

The only structured information concerning Libraries that can be found is in the tutorial.
https://diptrace.com/books/tutorial.pdf

Question Two
On page 8: '1.2 Configuring Libraries ....Let's group all libraries that we need for our project
in a single library group. Select User Components Library group then press Library Tools and
select Add Library to "User Components" '

When at the Place Component dialogue box the User Components option is chosen from the
Libraries drop down (image attached titled Place Components User Components)
there does not seem to be any element called 'Library Tools'.
Where are the Library Tools?

Question Three
When Place Components is accessed from PCB Layout (image attached marked
Place Components from PCB Layout) the result from clicking the
Libraries drop down is different from when Place
Components is accessed from Schematic Capture (image attached marked
Place Components Schematic Capture)
Is this because the Patterns are available in the PCB Layout application
but not available in the Schematic Capture application?

Thanks.

Allen Pitts

PS It is hoped that protocol is not broken by asking three questions
in one post. If this is the case, I will create three separate posts.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1910
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Schematic to PCB 220923

#6 Post by Tomg » 28 Sep 2022, 09:47

...Question One
Not sure where the new component exists and where the original (I assume original component.) is for the replacement to be made...
To find which library the schematic's component came from simply right-click on it, select "Properties..." in the context menu and look in the Library file path box in the upper-right corner of the Component Properties dialog window. That is the file path DipTrace will use when performing a component update in the schematic...
cpl1.png
To see the library path of the new component, select/highlight its library name in the Place Component panel on the left side and look at the top of the screen...
q1.png
...Question Two
When at the Place Component dialogue box the User Components option is chosen from the
Libraries drop down (image attached titled Place Components User Components)
there does not seem to be any element called 'Library Tools'.
Where are the Library Tools?...
Close the Place Component dialog window. The tutorial is referencing the Place Component panel on the left side of the screen...
q2.png
...Question Three
Is this because the Patterns are available in the PCB Layout application but not available in the Schematic Capture application?...
Yes.
p.s. It is possible to change the pattern of a component in the Schematic Editor, but the next time that same component is brought in from the library it will be sporting the library's attached pattern.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

Post Reply