Via To Via DRC

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
Post Reply
Message
Author
guitardenver
Posts: 8
Joined: 14 Feb 2018, 11:10

Via To Via DRC

#1 Post by guitardenver » 04 Jun 2021, 12:35

I'm having an issue with the DRC rules.

My rules have a 7mil setting for via to via clearance
Rules.PNG


Measuring the distance between two vias shows it's defiantly less than 7mil. Using the measuring tool, see the white line.
ViaDistanceMeasure.PNG


But the DRC does not yell at me. "No Errors Found"
DRC_Result.PNG


But, if I put the two vias even closer, the DRC does yell at me, but says the Rule is 5mil. Which means it's not using the via to via design rule, but the via to SMT rule? Which is 5mil
Capture.PNG
Is this intended? Or a bug?
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1746
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Via To Via DRC

#2 Post by Tomg » 04 Jun 2021, 13:39

If I'm interpreting the help file correctly, one cause of the problem could be a "class-to-class" clearance setting issue. DipTrace states "...class-to-class clearances have higher priority than regular net class clearances...". You might want to check that out just to be sure...
c2c.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

guitardenver
Posts: 8
Joined: 14 Feb 2018, 11:10

Re: Via To Via DRC

#3 Post by guitardenver » 04 Jun 2021, 14:11

You are absolutely right.

Both those NETs for those vias were under the same Net Class with 5mil clearance and the "Use Clearance in DRC" box was checked.

All is well now.

Thanks for the help.

Post Reply