Board Outline gerber in 4.0?

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
Post Reply
Message
Author
Exality
Posts: 81
Joined: 28 Sep 2017, 14:08
Location: Seattle, WA area
Contact:

Board Outline gerber in 4.0?

#1 Post by Exality » 29 May 2020, 12:27

When I read a .dip file created in 3.x into 4.0 and do File / Export / Gerber, the Board Outline and Board layers are blank in Preview and when exported. Layers on the right column in the Layout app shows "Board Cutout", but I don't see anything about Board Outline other than Objects / Place Board Outline. I've tried adjusting Board Outline Width in the Export Gerber dialog.

What has happened to Board Outline, or what am I doing wrong? Thanks for any help.

Gerrit
Gerrit

Exality
Posts: 81
Joined: 28 Sep 2017, 14:08
Location: Seattle, WA area
Contact:

Re: Board Outline gerber in 4.0?

#2 Post by Exality » 29 May 2020, 12:48

I think this was only a problem on the first board I tried, which was kind of an oddball. I'm seeing the board outline appear okay in other boards. I just re-created the outline in the oddball.
Gerrit

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1585
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Board Outline gerber in 4.0?

#3 Post by Tomg » 29 May 2020, 13:16

Is the original 'Board Outline" actually a Board Cutout? Move your mouse over it to see if it is. If so, all you have to do is right-click on it and select "Convert to Board Outline" in the context menu.
Tom

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 389
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: Board Outline gerber in 4.0?

#4 Post by novarm44 » 29 May 2020, 15:03

Board cutout should be also exported to Board Outline layer. Maybe it was created as shapes in different layer? Could you provide that problematic board or part of it (with board outline) to us if possible?

Exality
Posts: 81
Joined: 28 Sep 2017, 14:08
Location: Seattle, WA area
Contact:

Re: Board Outline gerber in 4.0?

#5 Post by Exality » 03 Jun 2020, 14:11

Thanks for the suggestions folks. I'm all good now, but I'll remember the "Convert to Board Outline" for the future. That's a nice trick.
Gerrit

Post Reply