Import custom graphics to silk

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
gschulz

Import custom graphics to silk

#1 Post by gschulz » 27 Mar 2020, 18:38

I've been using DipTrace since 2005 and have been very happy with it. Recently, I tried to do something I never did before, place custom graphics on the silk screen (company logo, etc). The tools in DipTrace were inadequate to generate the graphics I wanted, so I resorted to external third party tools (i.e. InkScape). The tool can generate DXF and I found other tools that could convert to Gerber. I tried almost 30 tools for the conversion and not one worked correctly with DipTrace. The problem is that when importing either DXF or Gerber (the only options) to the silk layer, the cutouts in objects are not honored. For example, the letter O has an outer object and an inner object that represents the hole. When importing a DXF, I get 2 separate objects with neither filled in. When importing Gerber, I get 2 separate filled in objects on different layers. In regards to Gerbers, a new layer is generated every time there is a %LPD*% or %LPC*% command. %LPC*% is supposed to set polarity to "clear", which is supposed to "undrawn" portions of the image (i.e. the hole in the center of the letter 'O'). Instead, I get a new layer with another filled object the shape of the hole. On a side note, of the 28 tools I tried for conversion, no 2 tools behaved the same. I thought this was supposed to be a standard.

Can anyone tell me how to successfully import external custom graphics to the silk layer? If I have to, I can generate a functional Gerber separately and include it in the stack up, but I would prefer to observe it with the other components in DipTrace and export it from the same source. It is also nice to view the project in the 3D viewer.

Alex
Technical Support

Re: Import custom graphics to silk

#2 Post by Alex » 30 Mar 2020, 14:24