Dealing with multiple identical audio channels

Making PCB Layouts, Manual routing, Auto-routing, Copper pouring, Updating from Schematic, Manufacturing Output
flicker177

Dealing with multiple identical audio channels

#1 Post by flicker177 » 15 Feb 2020, 09:29

Hello DipTrace users,

I'm a newbie here but I'm getting along well with DipTrace and have produced a few PCB's with it that actually work! I design audio equipment which often has 2, 4, 8 identical channels. I like to draw a schematic for one channel, transfer that to a PCB, and do the placement and routing.

After I'm happy with the placement and routing of this channel, I would like to find an easy way to copy and paste it on the schematic to as many channels as I need, do the same with the PCB with the placement and routing included, and finally add the few connections like power and ground that are common to the channels. I’d like to preserve all the work I did on placement and routing in the first channel.

Right now I’m able to do that but I have to go through the entire PCB and change the refdes on the pasted channel's parts to match those on the schematic before I can verify the PCB to the schematic. This is very tedious but not so much as re-doing the placement and routing for each channel.

The refdes renumbering is of very limited help. What would be very helpful would be copy and paste, not changing the refdes on both the schematic and the PCB, then a refdes renumbering where I could select all the parts on a channel and add 100, 200, etc. to differentiate them on both the schematic and the PCB.

Perhaps I’m missing something obvious, does anyone else do something like this? Have you found an easy way to deal with it?

Thanks,
--Bill

Tomg
Expert

Re: Dealing with multiple identical audio channels

#2 Post by Tomg » 17 Feb 2020, 09:46

"...I would like to find an easy way to copy and paste it on the schematic to as many channels as I need..."