schematic snap to grid

Drawing Schematics, Hierarchical Design, BOM, Exporting net-lists, etc.
Post Reply
Message
Author
brents
Posts: 1
Joined: 05 Aug 2011, 15:55

schematic snap to grid

#1 Post by brents » 05 Aug 2011, 16:08

Is there any way to turn off the rubber banding when moving a wire when it is near the pin it is connected to. When not close to the pin, it snaps to the grid. But when you move the wire on the x or y axis of the pin, it stops snapping to the grid. While this may be desirable when connecting to a pin, it is annoying when moving a wire.

timcrouse
Posts: 44
Joined: 07 Oct 2011, 16:05

Re: schematic snap to grid

#2 Post by timcrouse » 23 Oct 2011, 20:45

Have you tried toggling F11, this turns the grid / snap on and off.

EEnh
Posts: 38
Joined: 25 Sep 2011, 10:01

Re: schematic snap to grid

#3 Post by EEnh » 24 Oct 2011, 00:23

I think this is what you'r referring to, along with a temporary workaround.

http://www.diptrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=2586

jom
Posts: 61
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 16:52

Re: schematic snap to grid

#4 Post by jom » 16 Feb 2012, 17:03

This is a good thread to ask. I'm new at DT so I'm not sure how this snap works but it doesn't seem you can actually SET the snap. You can set the grid but the snap seems to be about 1/5 of it. If you turn the grid off the snap goes off as well.

So...how do you make the snap larger or, say, match to the grid?

Thanks

jom

Alex
Technical Support
Posts: 3259
Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43

Re: schematic snap to grid

#5 Post by Alex » 17 Feb 2012, 10:02

If you have small grid, you can see it on high scales only. If you decrease scale (try to scroll mouse wheel), program starts to show 10-times larger grid at certain scale. In other words, the grid you see may be not the one you set. It was done to do a drawing clear with any grid, but user should be attentive.

jom
Posts: 61
Joined: 16 Feb 2012, 16:52

Re: schematic snap to grid

#6 Post by jom » 17 Feb 2012, 13:36

Alex wrote:If you have small grid, you can see it on high scales only. If you decrease scale (try to scroll mouse wheel), program starts to show 10-times larger grid at certain scale. In other words, the grid you see may be not the one you set. It was done to do a drawing clear with any grid, but user should be attentive.
Yes, I see it now. Thanks for that.

jom

Post Reply