Components Don't Have Patterns

Drawing Schematics, Hierarchical Design, BOM, Exporting net-lists, etc.
Post Reply
Message
Author
allenpitts
Posts: 21
Joined: 29 Sep 2017, 20:03

Components Don't Have Patterns

#1 Post by allenpitts » 23 Jan 2021, 18:26

Hello Dip Trace Forum,

The schematic has been drawn in Schematic Capture.
Convert to PCB is chosen in the File menu.
The message returned is
'Components B1, Q1, and R1 don't have patterns.
The schematic can be converted to the board
incorrectly.'

What does this mean and how to correct it
so the schematic can be converted to a PCB?

Thanks.

Allen

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1739
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Components Don't Have Patterns

#2 Post by Tomg » 24 Jan 2021, 14:36

"...The message returned is 'Components B1, Q1, and R1 don't have patterns..."
This means exactly what it says - "Components B1, Q1, and R1 don't have patterns". You need to attach patterns to them before generating the PCB.
"...The schematic can be converted to the board incorrectly. What does this mean..."
This means the PCB will be created without those missing patterns. In other words it isn't going to match the schematic and will make it somewhat difficult to load those missing components once you get your blank boards back from the board house. Look at the bright side; at least it won't take as long to route the traces.
Tom

scfaria
Posts: 35
Joined: 20 May 2021, 22:32

Re: Components Don't Have Patterns

#3 Post by scfaria » 21 May 2021, 18:50

Since I'm a newby to this IDE I would think that if one is using the standard library files then one would not have to worry about 'attaching patterns' and such. I made a very simple schematic using the library and tried to convert it to a PCB using the applicable tool and got the same message. So now I am confused. Also, I have no idea how to 'attach a pattern' to a schematic.
syd

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1739
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: Components Don't Have Patterns

#4 Post by Tomg » 24 May 2021, 09:00

Here is an example...
ap2s.png
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

scfaria
Posts: 35
Joined: 20 May 2021, 22:32

Re: Components Don't Have Patterns

#5 Post by scfaria » 24 May 2021, 09:23

So not all the components of the libraries have patterns and the ones that don't have have a pattern attached need to have one installed to do the routing correctly. I did find the manual section about adding patterns so it is no longer a problem. This is a very complicated set of tools and some parts of it are not intuitive at all.
syd

Post Reply