Struggling to Print Schematic Correctly

Drawing Schematics, Hierarchical Design, BOM, Exporting net-lists, etc.
rfdes

Struggling to Print Schematic Correctly

#1 Post by rfdes » 11 Aug 2018, 03:52

Hi -
I'm fairly new with Diptrace (using V3.2.0.1) and am having issues getting my schematics scaled properly to 11x17 paper.

Using 'Titles and Sheet Setup'
Selected the default 'C' size template and made sure the show 'Sheet' and 'Zone' check boxes are clicked. I also select the 11x17 paper size even though the 'C' template is used. A warning comes up claiming the software will scale the schematic. The schematics looks great, visually, from the schematic editor windows. However, getting the entire schematic (including the zones) to scale to 11x17 paper has been difficult. I've used the Print Preview window to review, but I sometimes (not all the time) I get an error message that the schematic does not fit on the paper. Sure enough, the schematic is not scaled as I expect it.

So, in short, I'm confused. Many places to 'scale' the image but my knowledge of the correct procedure appears to be faulty. I need someones help.
All in all:
  • I want to use a 'C' size template to draw the schematic
  • I want to print this to 11x17 paper with both the schematic AND the zone information properly scaled.
Your help would be appreciated.
Jim

NEDurnan

Re: Struggling to Print Schematic Correctly

#2 Post by NEDurnan » 11 Feb 2020, 07:32

I realize this is an old post, but I'm a new user too and have been struggling with similar issues. The only way I've been able to get things to print the way I want them (C-size drawing printed on B-size paper) is to print it to a C-sized PDF first, then print the PDF on B-size paper. But I'm still struggling with portrait-vs-landscape when printing my C-size PDF. What shows up in the print preview window and what actually ends up in the PDF seem to be backwards.

PaulNewf

#3 Post by PaulNewf » 11 Mar 2020, 06:51