DipTrace 4.0 beta

News from developer. Also post info about new articles, tutorials, conferences, etc.
Message
Author
novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#131 Post by novarm44 » 13 May 2020, 06:47

Hi All,

We have fixed (seems) almost all bugs and updated beta today. Download it at https://diptrace.com/download/download-diptrace/. This version is actually similar to upcoming 4.0 release, but we decided to keep it beta yet, wait and test it for 4-5 days, then release 4.0.

Regards,
Stanislav

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1737
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#132 Post by Tomg » 13 May 2020, 10:34

v4Beta3 bugs carried over to v4Beta4
1) Changing the font size of text assigned to RefDes is still not reflected in PCB Layout editor's 3D Preview...
font.png
2) Teardrops still cause DRC errors when [x]Same Net Clearances option is enabled. Notice the negative Gap number...
snc.png
3) DXF Import tool in Pattern and PCB Layout editors is still missing Top/Bottom Courtyard and Top/Bottom Outline layers.
4) Zoom Extents using [Home] hotkey still does not act on Design Area when mouse cursor is active in library lists. Version 3's [Home] hotkey behavior was not disfunctional like this.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

xfer
Posts: 16
Joined: 20 Jun 2018, 12:34

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#133 Post by xfer » 13 May 2020, 11:33

Here is the dxf file that has a problem with locating the mounting holes. Thanks for checking this.

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#134 Post by novarm44 » 13 May 2020, 17:54

Tomg wrote:
13 May 2020, 10:34
1) Changing the font size of text assigned to RefDes is still not reflected in PCB Layout editor's 3D Preview...
I remember you reported this, but no idea why testers missed this report.
2) Teardrops still cause DRC errors when [x]Same Net Clearances option is enabled. Notice the negative Gap number...
Fixed. Also no idea why it is missing in our list also.
3) DXF Import tool in Pattern and PCB Layout editors is still missing Top/Bottom Courtyard and Top/Bottom Outline layers.
Will try to add.
4) Zoom Extents using [Home] hotkey still does not act on Design Area when mouse cursor is active in library lists. Version 3's [Home] hotkey behavior was not disfunctional like this.
Ok, this has been fixed already, but not the way it worked in v3. If mouse is over the list and list is focused, Home, End and character keys works for the list only, but if mouse is not over the list Home and all other hotkeys work for their assigned features in DipTrace. Same with design manager lists.
In v3 all assigned keys do not work for the list at all (Home, R, etc), but not assigned character keys work for the focused list not depending on mouse position.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1737
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#135 Post by Tomg » 13 May 2020, 18:18

Stanislav, thanks for the updates on the bug fixes and for the information about the changes.
Tom

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#136 Post by novarm44 » 13 May 2020, 18:51

Tomg wrote:
13 May 2020, 18:18
Stanislav, thanks for the updates on the bug fixes and for the information about the changes.
3 - just made myself, sent to testers
1 - pointed testers to it and will control fixing myself.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1737
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#137 Post by Tomg » 14 May 2020, 08:54

I just remembered one more bug that shows up after assigning text to the reference designator. Here is how to recreate the problem...

Step 1 - Create a component where text has been assigned to represent the reference designator (Show > RefDes) and place the component on a PCB.
Step 2 - Move its reference designator to a location that is different from its default.
Step 3 - Update the component from the library and observe that the reference designator loses its numerical assignment (e.g. R1 changes to R) and moves back to its default location.
Step 4 - Open and then close the Component Properties dialog window and observe that the reference designator's numerical assignment returns (e.g. R changes back to R1), but stays in its default location.
1.png
This probably won't rate high on your list of bugs requiring immediate attention and I realize you need to get v4 launched right away, but maybe it can be ironed out for version 4.0.1.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Tom

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#138 Post by novarm44 » 14 May 2020, 09:23

madscientist wrote:
10 May 2020, 20:37
whats the plan for a MAC Vine version dip trace 4.0 , will we see a release or a beta ?
4.0 beta with MAC Catalina support is ready for test:
https://diptrace.com/download/download-diptrace/

novarm44
Technical Support
Posts: 418
Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 06:24
Contact:

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#139 Post by novarm44 » 14 May 2020, 09:24

Tomg wrote:
14 May 2020, 08:54
I just remembered one more bug that shows up after assigning text to the reference designator. Here is how to recreate the problem...
Step 1 - Create a component where text has been assigned to represent the reference designator (Show > RefDes) and place the component on a PCB.
Step 2 - Move its reference designator to a location that is different from its default.
Step 3 - Update the component from the library and observe that the reference designator loses its numerical assignment (e.g. R1 changes to R) and moves back to its default location.
Step 4 - Open and then close the Component Properties dialog window and observe that the reference designator's numerical assignment returns (e.g. R changes back to R1), but stays in its default location.
I will try to fix this also - should not be hard, correct RefDes - 100%; but with position - some conflicts are possible, maybe better to keep library position or optional - will check.

Update:
Displaying correct text at once has been fixed. Using PCB text position not yet - it requires using additional structure and testing it, so keep it for the next minor update after 4.0.

Tomg
Expert
Posts: 1737
Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39

Re: DipTrace 4.0 beta

#140 Post by Tomg » 14 May 2020, 09:32

Thank you very much for all of your help, Stanislav.

p.s. I just checked the Schematic Editor and it has the same problem. Sorry I didn't spot it earlier.
Tom

Post Reply