Plot a pad without fullfilling it when using penplotter

DIY Projects and Methodologies, Hobby Circuits, Circuit Samples
Post Reply
Message
Author
Marcelo Yared
Posts: 1
Joined: 16 Feb 2015, 13:20

Plot a pad without fullfilling it when using penplotter

#1 Post by Marcelo Yared » 16 Feb 2015, 14:06

Hello,
I´m using an old penplotter (Graphtec) to drawn the PCI direct on the PCI, but the plotter always fullfill the pad, nor allowing a "hole" in the center of it.
When I plot a circle with a little radius, simulating a pad, it plots OK.
I´m using Win 7 64 with a driver for Graphtec and a HP 7475a emulation.
All others functions and plotting commands are working well.
Is there any clues about how to solve this problem?

Regards,

rd1196
Posts: 1
Joined: 21 Mar 2016, 11:16

Re: Plot a pad without fullfilling it when using penplotter

#2 Post by rd1196 » 21 Mar 2016, 11:20

Im having a similar problem. I am designing my boards in the pcb software and then exporting as a dxf to open in autocad and plot for engraving. The problem comes with through hole components because it just fills up the hole with the signal layer (looks like a surface mount ellipse pad) although it does indicate where the hole is.

Are there any ways to design the through hole pads as a ring of sorts rather than a pad with a separate layer of mounting hole inside?

Thanks

farley
Posts: 129
Joined: 15 Sep 2011, 16:28

Re: Plot a pad without fullfilling it when using penplotter

#3 Post by farley » 22 Mar 2016, 13:27

In the DipTrace Export DXF dialog there is a check box in the Objects category for Pad/Via Holes.

-- 22 Mar 2016, 12:33 --

Interesting. I just tried it and it doesn't appear that the holes show up in the DXF file. DraftSight renders the pads as solid.

Post Reply