Author Message
 Post subject: Moved pin from +3.3V to GND, now +3.3V seems shorted to GND
PostPosted: 08 Sep 2017, 10:44 
Offline

Joined: 02 Apr 2017, 18:37
Posts: 9
Had a pin on an 8-pin DIP which was connected to net name +3.3V (with a wire). Realized this was wrong so I deleted the line in schematic capture, leaving the pin with nothing connected. Then I connected it to GND. Voila, now +3.3V is connected to ground everywhere in my schematic. I saved it before I realized the error.

I've tried it a couple times now. The net name of the pin when not connected is "Undefined". Depending on the order I do things, the global short-everything-together net is either called "+3.3V" or "GND".


Now I really don't know what to do beyond completely starting over which is not going to make me very happy. Help?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Moved pin from +3.3V to GND, now +3.3V seems shorted to
PostPosted: 08 Sep 2017, 13:02 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 944
Try this...
1) Delete the offending connection that caused the GND net to merge into the +3.3V net, leaving the two original nets intact (i.e. don't delete the original wires). Note: If you have run busses that contained the original GND net, which is now gone after being merged into the +3.3V net, delete any of the original +3.3V net wire segments that connect to those busses, leaving the rest of the original wire intact.
2) Right-click on one of the original +3.3V net wires (not a pin) and select Properties... in the pop-up menu.
3) In the Net Properties dialog window make sure the net name is "+3.3V", disable all options and select OK. Be warned that any related wire labels will not be updated; you will have to do that manually.
4) The original GND net should now have an automatically assigned generic name. Right-click on one of its wires (not a pin), left-click on the new generic net name at the top of the pop-up menu, enter a new net name of "GND" in the Net Name dialog window, make sure the [ ]Rename Related Wires Only option is disabled and select OK.
5) If necessary, reconnect/add the GND net to any bus that originally contained it.
6) If necessary, reconnect/add the +3.3V net to any bus that originally contained it.

Hope this helps.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Moved pin from +3.3V to GND, now +3.3V seems shorted to
PostPosted: 08 Sep 2017, 15:06 
Offline

Joined: 02 Apr 2017, 18:37
Posts: 9
Thanks Tom, that looks like it did the trick!

:D


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group