Author Message
 Post subject: DXF circular polyline import bug
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2017, 07:58 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 943
DipTrace fails to import DXF file drawing figures that are circles made up of polylines as holes of any type. It will, however, import these same drawing figures as other objects. Here is a thread discussing the problem - http://www.diptrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11736

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DXF circular polyline import bug
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2017, 13:19 
Offline

Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 23:13
Posts: 17
Thanks for reporting this. I think the issue is something besides a spline/polyline issue, because even a rectangular shape from Illustrator, once imported into Diptrace, doesn't appear on the mounting holes layer either. I also tried several DXF files from various websites, all of them fail to appear when imported as Pad Holes, All Holes, or Mt Holes.

The shapes can be imported successfully to the Assembly layers, or imported as Pads. From there I can change the properties of each hole (Ellipse, Oval, etc). But I don't see a way to convert those shapes to Mounting Holes.

Here's a circle shape:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3k9sttylq6pbk ... e.dxf?dl=1

And a rectangle shape:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/coa1iujmlu68j ... e.dxf?dl=1

This is happening with Diptrace 3.1.0.1 on macOS 10.12.3


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DXF circular polyline import bug
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2017, 18:10 
Offline

Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35
Posts: 162
arcsecond wrote:
Thanks for reporting this. I think the issue is something besides a spline/polyline issue, because even a rectangular shape from Illustrator, once imported into Diptrace, doesn't appear on the mounting holes layer either. I also tried several DXF files from various websites, all of them fail to appear when imported as Pad Holes, All Holes, or Mt Holes.

The shapes can be imported successfully to the Assembly layers, or imported as Pads. From there I can change the properties of each hole (Ellipse, Oval, etc). But I don't see a way to convert those shapes to Mounting Holes.

Here's a circle shape:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3k9sttylq6pbk ... e.dxf?dl=1

And a rectangle shape:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/coa1iujmlu68j ... e.dxf?dl=1

This is happening with Diptrace 3.1.0.1 on macOS 10.12.3


A mounting hole is a drill point (x,y) with a diameter for drill size and a clearance, a rectangle has two x,y and no size. Look at anything you import and if there are any Points in the Type / Dimensions of the pads properties it is not going to work as a mounting hole or if it is not a hole as in round circle. Rectangular drill bit?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DXF circular polyline import bug
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2017, 18:16 
Offline

Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 23:13
Posts: 17
The rectangle is just an example of the potential bug, to demonstrate that it's not an issue with splines/polylines/etc inherent to circular geometry.

The imported data, whatever the shape may be, does not appear if you try to import into All Holes, Mt Holes, or Pad Holes during the DXF import process. No points, no holes, nothing to select after clicking Import.

Update: was able to import shapes from LibreCAD as mounting holes. It seems that DXF output from Illustrator simply does not play well with Diptrace, whether it's round, rectangular, etc.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DXF circular polyline import bug
PostPosted: 08 Aug 2017, 09:11 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2762
DipTrace DXF import can convert circles only to mounting holes. It can't convert splines or other shapes to mounting holes. This is not bug in DipTrace. You can draw "true" circle in a mechanical CAD and export DXF file. Unfortunately Illustration is not the best choice because it uses splines anywhere where possible.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DXF circular polyline import bug
PostPosted: 08 Aug 2017, 10:57 
Offline

Joined: 06 Mar 2017, 23:13
Posts: 17
Thanks for the response. As I mentioned in my email to support, it might not be a "bug" but it's an inconsistency at least.

You can import the same DXF geometry and use it for pads. Converting the imported geometry to ellipses works. From there you can change the same parameters as a mounting hole: inner diameter and outer diameter.

This means that Diptrace can determine all that it needs based on spline-based geometry, when it comes to pads, so it's not clear why the same isn't possible for mounting holes.

I have a workaround for now (importing as pads, exporting as Gerber, re-importing as mounting holes) so consider it a feature request versus a bug.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 6 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group