Author Message
 Post subject: DipTrace 3.1.01 Library issues
PostPosted: 30 Jun 2017, 16:03 
Offline

Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35
Posts: 167
I had to create a WS2812B device but when I opened Pattern Editor I had nothing in the User Patterns, I clicked on the Library Tool and selected Add just to find a list of library's without names "No Library File" one after another. After screwing around for awhile I got my pattern build and added it to a NEW user library then I add by file all my patterns from my C:\Users\Kevin\Documents\DipTrace31\My Libraries folder, one at a time. When I opened Component Editor and tried to click on MyLibrary in User Components I get:
The file is blocked from changes by "Kevin / Gate (6/30/2017 1:20:02PM)" Do you want to open a copy of the file?
Why? Everything is shut down but Component Editor so why is it thinking the file is read only? I checked the file, it is owned by Kevin/Gate and Everyone has WR rights.
Later: I used Library Editor to clear everything from the Component Library then added my Component library back in. Seems to have fixed the issue.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DipTrace 3.1.01 Library issues
PostPosted: 03 Aug 2017, 21:00 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jul 2017, 04:35
Posts: 4
Hi Kevin
I have had this problem a few times. It has to do with opening the editor by double-clicking. It will open two instants of the editor. Any editing is restricted as the other editor program is also open. I have solved it by just selecting the icon and press enter on the keyboard.
Maybe this should be rectified by Diptrace.
Klaas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DipTrace 3.1.01 Library issues
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2017, 09:15 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 09 Jun 2010, 08:12
Posts: 208
Usually the Library Group can be specifed immeditely before creating the new library.
"No Library File" means that a file moved to other directory. It is a strange bug. I cant reproduce it.
Please record the video when the problem will repeat.

klaas wrote:
I have had this problem a few times. It has to do with opening the editor by double-clicking. It will open two instants of the editor. Any editing is restricted as the other editor program is also open. I have solved it by just selecting the icon and press enter on the keyboard.
Maybe this should be rectified by Diptrace.
Klaas

What is the OS do you use? Double-click should open only one Editor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DipTrace 3.1.01 Library issues
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2017, 14:12 
Offline

Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35
Posts: 167
Serg wrote:
Usually the Library Group can be specifed immeditely before creating the new library.
"No Library File" means that a file moved to other directory. It is a strange bug. I cant reproduce it.
Please record the video when the problem will repeat.

klaas wrote:
I have had this problem a few times. It has to do with opening the editor by double-clicking. It will open two instants of the editor. Any editing is restricted as the other editor program is also open. I have solved it by just selecting the icon and press enter on the keyboard.
Maybe this should be rectified by Diptrace.
Klaas

What is the OS do you use? Double-click should open only one Editor.

I just tried it in Window 10 with my Logitech G700s mouse and a double click on the DipTrace Launcher gets two open editors, every time, 4 tries.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DipTrace 3.1.01 Library issues
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2017, 14:42 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 946
Why are you double-clicking on the launcher? I always give it a single-click and wait for the editor to launch. (This kind of reminds me of that old Henny Youngman joke where the patient says, "Doctor, it hurts when I do this." To which the doctor replies, "Then don't do that.")

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DipTrace 3.1.01 Library issues
PostPosted: 04 Aug 2017, 15:32 
Offline

Joined: 16 Jul 2017, 04:35
Posts: 4
Double clicking has become a habit of me. In windows it goes back a long time. Basically the first click selects the icon and the second one executes the run target of its properties. Microsoft has corrected this problem a long time ago. This means double clicking the shortcuts of Diptrace in All_Programs works fine but double clicking any item in the Diptrace Launcher results in multiple running programs. All it needs is a few adjustments in the programming of the Diptracer Launcher GUI.
I skip the launcher now after having copied the shortcut icons on my desktop.

--------------------
Klaas


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DipTrace 3.1.01 Library issues
PostPosted: 05 Aug 2017, 10:59 
Offline

Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35
Posts: 167
The issues with the launcher is no feedback after an action: When you do something (Double Click, Click, Mouse-Over),usually there is a response, Busy ICON or system noise to let the user know their last action is being processed, no more actions needed. Not so much with the launcher, a single Click produces nothing as the application is launched, a double click gives the same results.
Quote:
I always give it a single-click and wait for the editor to launch.
I've learned that lesson the hard way, perhaps changing the mouse pointer to a spinning busy ICON before starting the application?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: DipTrace 3.1.01 Library issues
PostPosted: 05 Aug 2017, 11:31 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 946
Perhaps the selection areas should be animated buttons/widgets that, when "pressed" (clicked on), stay "pressed" to prevent and ignore further action until the selected editor appears.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group