Author Message
 Post subject: Nets have merged by accident and I can't separate them
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2017, 00:38 
Offline

Joined: 23 Sep 2016, 22:31
Posts: 13
I have a fairly detailed schematic with around 1100 pins.

I have two nets, +12VP and GND which are separate nets in the schematic.

However, I somehow got them merged together so that if I hover over any pad that is supposed to be GND it shows as +12VP. I look at all of my ground pours and they are all now connected to +12VP and not GND however they were GND when I started.

When I try to renew from schematic it says that there are differences and lets me choose whether to use the schematic or the layout. I choose schematic and still the nets remain merged in the layout only.

I've searched to see if this has happened to anyone else before and I see a post from 2010 where support asked the person to send them the two files.

What should I try doing first to get these unmerged? I've tried looking to see if somehow the nets got shorted in the layout but I don't see it except for the copper pours. Do I need to rip them up? I've tried to change them back to GND but GND does not show up in the drop down list any more.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nets have merged by accident and I can't separate them
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2017, 07:19 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 934
It sounds like you accidentally merged one Net with another in the Schematic Editor. There is a flaw (in my opinion) in the DipTrace Schematic Editor that allows this to happen without displaying a warning that the Nets are about to be merged. If you can find the accidental bridge connection in the schematic, right-click on the wire and select Delete Wire in the pop-up menu. Rename the two separated Nets as desired. I've included a video named "merged nets" (below) that shows a simple example of the DipTrace flaw with a solution. After the schematic has been corrected, open the PCB layout, disconnect the offending copper pour from its Net (for Connect to Net:, choose None), use the Renew Layout from Schematic tool and then connect the copper pour to the desired Net.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nets have merged by accident and I can't separate them
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2017, 12:46 
Offline

Joined: 23 Sep 2016, 22:31
Posts: 13
But everything in the schematic is correct. The nets are only merged in the pc board layout. When I update from schematic the GND net shows up because it asks me if I want to use the schematic or the layout, and I choose schematic. But the nets remain merged in the layout only.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nets have merged by accident and I can't separate them
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2017, 12:48 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 934
Try disconnecting all copper pours from their Nets, then connect each one to the desired Net (one at a time) to see what happens.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nets have merged by accident and I can't separate them
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2017, 13:17 
Offline

Joined: 23 Sep 2016, 22:31
Posts: 13
I'm going to have to remove the copper pours. I tried to change the net of each pour back to GND however the GND net isn't there any more.
Also I couldn't choose to have them connected to no net at all. I tried removing the net and having it connect to nothing and that wouldn't work either.

I really don't want to have to remove them completely, but I think I might have to.

I've also tried removing all static vias that went to the GND layer. That didn't work.

Is there a way to tell each copper pour that I don't want to attach it to any net?
Or can I create a dummy net and attach it to that?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nets have merged by accident and I can't separate them
PostPosted: 16 Feb 2017, 14:35 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 934
marbol wrote:
"...Is there a way to tell each copper pour that I don't want to attach it to any net?..."
1) Right-click on the copper pour outline and select Properties... in the pop-up menu.
2) In the Copper Pour Properties dialog window click on the [Connectivity] tab.
3) Click on the down-arrow in the Connect to Net: drop-down list and select None.
4) Select OK.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nets have merged by accident and I can't separate them
PostPosted: 17 Feb 2017, 00:58 
Offline

Joined: 23 Sep 2016, 22:31
Posts: 13
That didn't work. But I found the issue. And I feel really bad and stupid.

It was my fault since I had a component that had crossed net in the component itself.

I guess I'd better learn to be more careful.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Nets have merged by accident and I can't separate them
PostPosted: 03 Mar 2017, 22:44 
Offline

Joined: 02 Mar 2017, 06:53
Posts: 7
In my first encounter of DipTrace this also happen to me , where my gnd and my Vcc ara accidentally connected.
It was a big miss coz there a lot of component connected to the two signal.
This is something that DipTrace should also correct.
But I found a way in order this thing not to happen again in my schematic.
My Trick is that:
I used different color in my gnd signal and different color on my Vcc.
As I connect a new component to my gnd if will automatically change its wire color to my gnd color
So in this way I will not mistake my wiring anymore. just use color coding.

JET,


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group