Author Message
 Post subject: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 04 Feb 2015, 21:13 
Offline

Joined: 20 Dec 2011, 23:59
Posts: 43
Hi Alex,

I moved certain components with the connected nets from one sheet to another, found that components getting moved but having an issue that connects nets disappeared for those components and not allowing to connect them. Also, only GND net seems to shown connected but when I tried to move it around, behaving unexpectedly.

Am I missing something here or its a bug? Please see the attached document for more details.

I am using the latest version of DipTrace in Win 8.1 64 Bits with proper setting. I am not getting any other error or issue but this one only.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 05 Feb 2015, 11:13 
Offline

Joined: 04 Feb 2015, 09:16
Posts: 2
Were you able to solve it I'm also having same problem.

_________________
Kerri


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 09 Feb 2015, 03:41 
Offline

Joined: 20 Dec 2011, 23:59
Posts: 43
No, not yet Kerri. For me it seems a defect.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 09 Feb 2015, 13:51 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 06 May 2014, 11:56
Posts: 125
You have to follow a strict process for copy/pasting from one design to another (I assume from your post this is what you are doing).

First, the component designators MUST NOT CHANGE from one design to another. So, when you make the new schematic, copy the block from the old design to the new design and DO NOT CHANGE the designators (do not update the part numbers). Create your new design and PCB. DO NOT read in the netlist yet (i.e. Renew design from schematic). Instead, with your new board started, copy and paste the block from the PCB you want FIRST. Once you have that placed, then RENEW the design. All the new components will be loaded and the block you have already will stay intact. The whole point is that the designations between designs where you have copied and pasted must remain intact, otherwise it rips the block apart. It's clunky and not intelligently handled, but it can be done.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 11 Feb 2015, 17:24 
Offline

Joined: 20 Dec 2011, 23:59
Posts: 43
Hi mtripoli,

Thanks for your response. However, you are understanding is different than my problem. I am copying component from one sheet to another in the same design and in the same project and not in a hierarchical block but finding this issue.

Take an example, I have a mini circuit of 5V Regulator (i.e. standard LM7805) and I need same in another sheet of same design so that regulator can handle load better. Now I am copying this mini circuit from on sheet to another just to duplicate. This is not a problem where NetPort are not used. But is a problem when NetPort (like 5V, GND, +12V etc.) are used.

I can create a same new circuit again, then what is the use of Copy & Paste. This is also required from consistency perspective.

Do you have any solution please?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 11 Feb 2015, 22:17 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 06 May 2014, 11:56
Posts: 125
I think I get it... When you copy the block you do NOT want the same net name for two different "+5V"? One thing I will suggest; give "Netports" net names yourself. I don't like the way nets are handled in DP so when it comes to power and ground I select the net and give it a name that makes sense (like "+5V_A" "+5V_D", or something). It makes things a bit more readable.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 11 Feb 2015, 23:21 
Offline

Joined: 20 Dec 2011, 23:59
Posts: 43
Thanks mtripoli for your response. I am also assigning names to Netport manually but still this problem.

I am surprise this time getting no response from Dip Trace support team. Earlier they never used to be late in responding. Don't know what's going at their end, as we all are guessing.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 12 Feb 2015, 04:32 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2760
1. How did you move components from one sheet to another? I mean using cut and paste or using "Change Sheet" function?
2. How about hierarchy? Do source and destination sheets have same level of hierarchy?
3. It seems, pins are still connected but connection lines are not visible. This is visual defect. Try to change graphics mode in Schematic to refresh it.

pradipkhare wrote:
I am surprise this time getting no response from Dip Trace support team. Earlier they never used to be late in responding. Don't know what's going at their end, as we all are guessing.

I seldom read this forum branch, it's created to share 3D models. Will do it more often.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 18 Feb 2015, 13:49 
Offline

Joined: 20 Dec 2011, 23:59
Posts: 43
Hi Alex,

Thank for your response. I am also sorry for posting my query in the wrong forum.

Yes, your suggestion using the option "Change Sheet" worked without any error. Thanks.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Error while copying components from one sheet to another
PostPosted: 17 Jun 2015, 03:21 
Offline

Joined: 19 May 2015, 03:06
Posts: 3
Thanks for sharing your info.
I have enjoyed with your posts.
Glad to be member here.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group