Author Message
 Post subject: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 11 Sep 2013, 09:57 
Offline

Joined: 09 Sep 2013, 09:52
Posts: 23
Location: Pennsylvainia
I needed to change my pad and drill sizes on the pcb to accommodate hand soldering.
When I renewed design from schematic all the sizes changed back to the previous. I tried all 3 ways "by component, refdesg,& related schematic.
How do I keep my new pad and drill sizes and still be able to run renew design from schematic?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 21 Oct 2013, 09:56 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2762
Do not renew design from schematic after you manually changed pad and drill size. Or return to Schematic, re-attach to components modified patterns with changed pads and save updated schematic file.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 13 Apr 2014, 00:55 
Offline

Joined: 26 Mar 2013, 16:52
Posts: 17
This is an old thread, but I came across the same problem.
I enjoy using Diptrace but I find this to be an annoying "feature".
I also want to be able to I keep my new pad and drill sizes and still be able to run renew design from schematic. I had no problem doing that in Protel99 .
You should consider making it an option.
What your saying is I have to create a new pattern, and update schematic file, doesn't sound very efficient.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 28 Apr 2014, 04:39 
Offline

Joined: 28 Apr 2014, 04:27
Posts: 1
Well, changing pads sizes and hole sizes to default after renewing schematic would be acceptable for me only if smaller holes (drill marks) could be achieved by one - two clicks for all pads globally.
This can be done by enabling only one property changes. What I mean is for example, when you select all elements, then you right click them, "Pad Properties...", after that you change only hole diameter with "Apply to all pads" option checked, when clicking ok, everything is changed: pad type, width, height etc even you did want to change only one property. A good idea would be to add option to choose on every property, e.g. "Do not change" or "Leave unchanged".


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 09 Feb 2016, 05:51 
Offline

Joined: 07 Feb 2016, 12:27
Posts: 1
TANK wrote:
This is an old thread, but I came across the same problem.
I enjoy using Diptrace but I find this to be an annoying "feature".
I also want to be able to I keep my new pad and drill sizes and still be able to run renew design from schematic. This https://skinnyexpress.com/phenq-review is called phenq. I had no problem doing that in Protel99 .
You should consider making it an option.
What your saying is I have to create a new pattern, and update schematic file, doesn't sound very efficient.


Does it still get rid of you drill sizes in the latest version of DipTrace? I haven't upgraded yet but I will if it's possible to save drill sizes etc after making a new design.


Last edited by YellowFlakes on 25 May 2016, 12:49, edited 2 times in total.

Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 10 Feb 2016, 11:43 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 943
TANK wrote:
"...keep my new pad and drill sizes and still be able to run renew design from schematic..."
Before using the Renew Layout from Schematic tool, lock the objects that you do not want to change (right-click and choose Lock Selected in the pop-up menu). Now, when the Renew Layout from Schematic tool is used, it will ask you if you want to update the locked components. Answer No...


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 29 Jun 2016, 09:50 
Offline

Joined: 10 Jan 2015, 02:00
Posts: 188
Location: Anaheim, CA 92806
How can I keep my pad and drill size same and still able to run renew design from schematic?

_________________
PCB Manufacturing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 17 Dec 2016, 13:14 
Offline

Joined: 17 Dec 2016, 13:11
Posts: 1
Do not renew design from schematic after you manually changed pad and drill size. Or return to Schematic, re-attach to components modified patterns with changed pads and save updated schematic file.

-- 19 Dec 2016, 12:53 --

Well, changing pads sizes and hole sizes to default after renewing schematic would be acceptable for me only if smaller holes (drill marks) could be achieved by one - two clicks for all pads globally.
This can be done by enabling only one property changes. What I mean is for example, when you select all elements, then you right click them, "Pad Properties...", after that you change only hole diameter with "Apply to all pads" option checked, when clicking ok, everything is changed: pad type, width, height etc even you did want to change only one property. A good idea would be to add option to choose on every property, e.g. "Do not change" or "Leave unchanged".

_________________
this is


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing pad and drill sizes
PostPosted: 14 Jun 2017, 14:31 
Offline

Joined: 14 Jun 2017, 14:30
Posts: 1
TANK wrote:
This is an old thread, but I came across the same problem.
I enjoy using Diptrace but I find this to be an annoying "feature".
I also want to be able to I keep my new pad and drill phenqwiki sizes and still be able to run renew design from schematic. I had no problem doing that in Protel99 .
You should consider making it an option.
What your saying is I have to create a new pattern, and update schematic file, doesn't sound very efficient.

I will if it's possible to save drill sizes etc after making a new design. it still get rid of you drill sizes in the latest version of DipTrace?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 9 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group