DipTrace Forum
http://www.diptrace.com/forum/

DXF circular polyline import bug
http://www.diptrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=11738
Page 1 of 1

Author:  Tomg [ 07 Aug 2017, 07:58 ]
Post subject:  DXF circular polyline import bug

DipTrace fails to import DXF file drawing figures that are circles made up of polylines as holes of any type. It will, however, import these same drawing figures as other objects. Here is a thread discussing the problem - http://www.diptrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=11736

Author:  arcsecond [ 07 Aug 2017, 13:19 ]
Post subject:  Re: DXF circular polyline import bug

Thanks for reporting this. I think the issue is something besides a spline/polyline issue, because even a rectangular shape from Illustrator, once imported into Diptrace, doesn't appear on the mounting holes layer either. I also tried several DXF files from various websites, all of them fail to appear when imported as Pad Holes, All Holes, or Mt Holes.

The shapes can be imported successfully to the Assembly layers, or imported as Pads. From there I can change the properties of each hole (Ellipse, Oval, etc). But I don't see a way to convert those shapes to Mounting Holes.

Here's a circle shape:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3k9sttylq6pbk ... e.dxf?dl=1

And a rectangle shape:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/coa1iujmlu68j ... e.dxf?dl=1

This is happening with Diptrace 3.1.0.1 on macOS 10.12.3

Author:  KevinA [ 07 Aug 2017, 18:10 ]
Post subject:  Re: DXF circular polyline import bug

arcsecond wrote:
Thanks for reporting this. I think the issue is something besides a spline/polyline issue, because even a rectangular shape from Illustrator, once imported into Diptrace, doesn't appear on the mounting holes layer either. I also tried several DXF files from various websites, all of them fail to appear when imported as Pad Holes, All Holes, or Mt Holes.

The shapes can be imported successfully to the Assembly layers, or imported as Pads. From there I can change the properties of each hole (Ellipse, Oval, etc). But I don't see a way to convert those shapes to Mounting Holes.

Here's a circle shape:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/3k9sttylq6pbk ... e.dxf?dl=1

And a rectangle shape:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/coa1iujmlu68j ... e.dxf?dl=1

This is happening with Diptrace 3.1.0.1 on macOS 10.12.3


A mounting hole is a drill point (x,y) with a diameter for drill size and a clearance, a rectangle has two x,y and no size. Look at anything you import and if there are any Points in the Type / Dimensions of the pads properties it is not going to work as a mounting hole or if it is not a hole as in round circle. Rectangular drill bit?

Author:  arcsecond [ 07 Aug 2017, 18:16 ]
Post subject:  Re: DXF circular polyline import bug

The rectangle is just an example of the potential bug, to demonstrate that it's not an issue with splines/polylines/etc inherent to circular geometry.

The imported data, whatever the shape may be, does not appear if you try to import into All Holes, Mt Holes, or Pad Holes during the DXF import process. No points, no holes, nothing to select after clicking Import.

Update: was able to import shapes from LibreCAD as mounting holes. It seems that DXF output from Illustrator simply does not play well with Diptrace, whether it's round, rectangular, etc.

Author:  Alex [ 08 Aug 2017, 09:11 ]
Post subject:  Re: DXF circular polyline import bug

DipTrace DXF import can convert circles only to mounting holes. It can't convert splines or other shapes to mounting holes. This is not bug in DipTrace. You can draw "true" circle in a mechanical CAD and export DXF file. Unfortunately Illustration is not the best choice because it uses splines anywhere where possible.

Author:  arcsecond [ 08 Aug 2017, 10:57 ]
Post subject:  Re: DXF circular polyline import bug

Thanks for the response. As I mentioned in my email to support, it might not be a "bug" but it's an inconsistency at least.

You can import the same DXF geometry and use it for pads. Converting the imported geometry to ellipses works. From there you can change the same parameters as a mounting hole: inner diameter and outer diameter.

This means that Diptrace can determine all that it needs based on spline-based geometry, when it comes to pads, so it's not clear why the same isn't possible for mounting holes.

I have a workaround for now (importing as pads, exporting as Gerber, re-importing as mounting holes) so consider it a feature request versus a bug.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/