Author Message
 Post subject: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 25 Feb 2016, 05:08 
Offline

Joined: 25 Jan 2016, 12:07
Posts: 7
Under Windows 10/64-bit, 3D preview stops at "initialization" and nothing happens, even as administrator privileges


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 26 Feb 2016, 04:47 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2760
What DipTrace version do you use?
Please try to change graphics mode (View->Graphics Mode from main menu) and let me know what happens.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 26 Feb 2016, 13:40 
Offline

Joined: 25 Jan 2016, 12:07
Posts: 7
I use the beta 3. If I click a second time on the 3D button, it works
This behavior is just for the first use. After 3D works normally in one click
Graphics mode doesn't change anything
I had no problem with the same PC and Windows 8.1/64 bits

-- 13 Mar 2016, 14:11 --

The problem is always there with official release
Version 2.9 works perfectly


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 16 Mar 2016, 11:29 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 16:46
Posts: 115
I've got the same problem. Additionally, when it does go into 3D mode there are no 3D models present.
When I go to Tools>3D Preview> Patterns and models search, the first line is blank and the second line says "C:\program files (x86)\DipTrace\models3d", which appears to be correct.
If I go to Tools>3D Preview>3D Visualization, I get the error message "Cannot find any 3D model....."

My computer is running Windows 8.1 64 bit. 3D visualization was working fine on this PC before I upgraded to 3.0.

-Rick

-- 16 Mar 2016, 13:20 --

Further information: Tried rebooting the PC, uninstalling and re-installing freshly downloaded copy of Models3D, uninstalling and re-installing in a directory off of the root, renaming models3d_12345.exe to models3D.exe, tried running as admin. Nothing seems to help.

-- 23 Mar 2016, 08:14 --

Update: Tried installing on my home computer. I do not see the same problem there. 3D preview works fine. Both PC's are Windows 8.1 64 bit.

I still REALLY need to get this working on my office computer, which is where I do 90% of my PCB layout work.

-Rick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 11 Apr 2016, 06:11 
Offline

Joined: 22 May 2015, 02:26
Posts: 5
I got a similar issue on Win10/64 bits (french)

3D preview works only on 2nd time (I click Redraw)

Then

STEP EXPORT file is empty (0 bytes)
VRML EXPORT is OK

-- 11 Apr 2016, 18:44 --

It looks like switching to Direct3D graphics mode (I was in Open GL) solved both issues (3D preview starts normally and step file is not empty)

although I do not understand why.

I hope Novarm will soon make DipTrace as reliable as it was before 3.0.

Best

Jef


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 12 Apr 2016, 09:04 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2760
If switching graphics mode solved both issues the reason may be videodriver for Win 10. You can try to update driver for videocard.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 12 Apr 2016, 09:12 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 16:46
Posts: 115
Alex wrote:
If switching graphics mode solved both issues the reason may be videodriver for Win 10. You can try to update driver for videocard.

Hi Alex-
I just tried switching graphics modes, but in my case it had no effect. Still hangs on "initialization", and on the second try "no 3D models found", but they are installed.

-Rick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 13 Apr 2016, 05:06 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2760
Hi jfpeyre and excalibur,

Please try to reinstall DipTrace to non-system drive or any except C:\Program Files\ folder. We recommend to do it for all users of French version of Windows because there is strange problem with permissions on some folders where DipTrace saves files with settings.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 27 Apr 2016, 08:10 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 16:46
Posts: 115
Alex sent me a suggestion in a direct email that fixed the problem, so I wanted to document it here for the benefit of others.
Go to "Tools->3D Preview->Patterns and Models Search", and if there's a blank line before the correct path to the 3D models, delete the blank line.

All is good now. Thanks, Alex!

-Rick


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: 3D preview doesn't work under windows 10/64bits
PostPosted: 19 May 2016, 00:28 
Offline

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 22:29
Posts: 71
Hello Alex/ ALL,

I had the same problem and mentioned it on this Form when 3.0 first came out. I'm using Windows 10 64 bit also. The problem was that I had not installed the new 3D components. Once I did that all worked well.

AGAIN I did NOT install the new 3D components. Once I did that, ALL was well.

I ask that DipTrace add this in the code so that USER can get the feedback from the SOFTWARE that the NEW 3D components be down loaded.

Howard


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 10 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group