Author Message
 Post subject: Import schematic symbol from .bmp, or other image file?
PostPosted: 18 Mar 2016, 17:37 
Offline

Joined: 16 Mar 2016, 23:07
Posts: 5
Fairly new to DipTrace, and just discovered the "Forum". Finding a wealth of knowledge here! That being said-- forgive me if the following has been addressed before, but so far my searching hasn't turned up anything.

In the Component Editor, is there a way to import an existing schematic symbol .bmp, or some other raster image file instead of drawing it from scratch within the program? How about a vector image file? I have schematic symbols of some odd/specific components I'd like to make a Diptrace library of, that would be fairly time consuming to replicate if drawing from scratch. I can elaborate further, but think this pretty much sums it up. Obviously all leads/pins would need to be identified/labeled, etc.

Thanks!
Regards,
Chris


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import schematic symbol from .bmp, or other image file?
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2016, 15:33 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 944
Vacuuminded wrote:
"...In the Component Editor, is there a way to import an existing schematic symbol .bmp, or some other raster image file instead of drawing it from scratch within the program?...""
It is possible to import other components from another library, or export a component from the schematic into a User Component library, but only within DipTrace. Right-clicking on a component in the schematic (or in the Component Editor's library components listing) can sometimes reveal helpful options.

Vacuuminded wrote:
"...How about a vector image file? I have schematic symbols of some odd/specific components I'd like to make a Diptrace library of, that would be fairly time consuming to replicate if drawing from scratch..."
To my knowledge, you can "cut and paste" only within the same editor within DipTrace. Perhaps others on this forum know of ways around this limitation.

I posted a similar request last June. Mine was for a Component Editor DXF import tool. I never did receive a response. See http://www.diptrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=10491

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import schematic symbol from .bmp, or other image file?
PostPosted: 20 Mar 2016, 23:34 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jan 2012, 10:50
Posts: 116
Chris,

You know there could be a bit of a 'gotcha' even if you were to figure out a way to make that work and that is when making a schematic symbol, the pins really need to line up on a 'standard' grid (what ever grid size you choose). If you were to import a symbol I don't know how you would accomplish that. You would have to have a way to dynamically resize the symbol and snap all pins to the grid and as far as I know, Diptrace doesn't have anything remotely similar to this function. Otherwise you would have to edit the symbol and drag things around and that would be about the same amount of work or maybe even more as just creating it in the first place. Really, creating symbols in Diptrace is amazing simple and fast. That truly is one of Diptrace's strong points. The thing that takes the most time is defining all the pins and if you were to import a DFX drawing as a symbol you would still have to do all that anyway.

But let's assume for a moment that you were successful in importing a drawing as a symbol and it's pins are in random locations as per the grid. The problem is that if you try to draw schematics without the pins on a defined grid, you most likely will have trouble getting the connections made reliably and it may not look very 'uniform'. The grid really is the way to go.

Anyway, I use a 100mil grid sometimes switching to 50mil depending on the component for schematics only. That's the first thing that was a bit confusing when learning to use Diptrace. I wasn't sure what grid spacing to use for schematics and at that time I didn't see that stated anywhere. Most of the symbols and text seemed to work fairly well on 100mil spacing so I just stayed with it. It isn't right or wrong, it's just what seemed to work well for me.

Jeff


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import schematic symbol from .bmp, or other image file?
PostPosted: 26 Mar 2016, 14:53 
Offline

Joined: 16 Mar 2016, 23:07
Posts: 5
Thank you all for the replies. The grid issue is legitimate, but these symbols are odd enough that resizing the grid to something very small would likely be necessary anyway, and be passible. Long story short, the symbols I'm looking to create a library for are VERY old, uniquely drawn as was done in the 1920s thru around the end of the vacuum tube era. Pictured are two examples, (there are a few different styles to choose from), and might give an idea of just how labor intensive it would be to redraw every component type for the same visual effect. Also before someone questions copywrite issues etc, I have written permission from the creator of the antiquated Tubepad to pursue this.
<http://www.gjohanson.com/Homesite/TEXTS/Tubepadf.html>
Any further ideas, or ways to "cheat" by changing file extensions and being able to paste stuff from an external file/program/editor? Again, I have access to the actual image files for these schematic symbols.

Regards,
Chris


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import schematic symbol from .bmp, or other image file?
PostPosted: 26 Mar 2016, 18:06 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 944
You can import pictures into the Schematic Editor, but I don't think that will get you very close to creating components with them. The Component Editor doesn't have that capability.

Just as an exercise, I created a component library with similar looking components (see the file named vintage.eli below). One of the 6AG7 tubes features internal elements similar to what I found in an old GE document, and it has only one part. Another more closely "resembles" the tube in one of your drawings and is a two-part component that allows you to place the "Filament" (Heater) in a different location on the schematic. These aren't the most artistic of components, but they will work with the DipTrace Net structure. Feel free to download and use this "vintage" library; or just use its components as a "jumping off" point if you want. They weren't too difficult to create in DipTrace and, after spending a little time practicing with the drawing and pin tools, I'm sure you could create your own "vintage" component library in less time than you realize.

Since I don't have access to the socket drawings, there are no patterns.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import schematic symbol from .bmp, or other image file?
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 17:22 
Offline

Joined: 16 Mar 2016, 23:07
Posts: 5
Wow Tom, this is terrific! You're clearly much faster and well versed with the component/pattern creator than I! May I ask how much time it took you to create this library? The components you have created here will be a HUGE help!!


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import schematic symbol from .bmp, or other image file?
PostPosted: 31 Mar 2016, 18:44 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 944
On and off for a few days, trying to compare against your drawings, readjusting the scale on different components, comparing again, adjusting different components again, balancing the scale against 100 mil spacing for the pins, etc. It sounds worse than it actually is. If you have access to dimensioned drawings, each component should only take about 25 minutes max for the more difficult cases and perhaps 5 minutes or less for the simple examples. After you have done this a few times, the component creation process gets faster and easier.

The included components aren't perfect as I had to find the best compromise between being true to the original design and being practical for use in DipTrace. No data fields were created; that will be up to you. Feel free to alter these components to satisfy your own requirements.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Import schematic symbol from .bmp, or other image file?
PostPosted: 21 Jun 2016, 09:29 
Offline

Joined: 10 Jan 2015, 02:00
Posts: 188
Location: Anaheim, CA 92806
Follow the below steps, this may help you,
Click on Bitmap in the Insert pull-down menu. The Select Image dialog box is displayed. Click on the .BMP or .JPG file you want to insert in your drawing and click Open. The Bitmap menu is displayed in the Menu Window, and you are prompted to “Enter first point of bitmap rectangle”.
See more: http://www.datacad.com/support/down/Dat ... DCXL16.pdf

_________________
PCB Manufacturing


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group