Post subject: New Pattern - Which Layer?
PostPosted: 14 Nov 2015, 02:36 

Hi All

I have some limited experience in Diptrace. I'm still on a very steep learning curve. I now have the need to create a new pattern/component (for the very first time). It is a fuse in a "European" TR5 package. 370 Series. I can't find it in any of the libraries.

http://au.element14.com/littelfuse/37001000430/fuse-quick-blow-tr5-100ma/dp/9515895?ost=37001000430&selectedCategoryId=

I was going to attach the datasheet but this forum wouldn't let me upload a PDF saying that this file extension is not allowed.

Anyway, my questions are;

When I create the part what layer/s do I nominate for the pattern??? This is a through hole component so I would think it is only meant to be the bottom layer, but I am confused as to what is the correct approach to ensure that the pattern works correctly with the auto-router etc. Most of the patterns I have looked at seem to be based around the top layer. What is the correct approach???

This is a simple part so I should be able to create the pattern and 3D profile. Once done how do I "share" this pattern with others? Is there a location on the Diptrace forum to post patterns?

Thanks.

Post subject: Re: New Pattern - Which Layer?
PostPosted: 16 Nov 2015, 17:17 
Expert

Typically, through-hole patterns are created on the top layer in the Pattern Editor. When you're ready to place the component onto your PCB in the PCB Layout editor, just plunk it down on the top layer. Since it's a through-hole component, routing can be done on any layer as long as the part's case does not electrically interfere with any of the traces. If you need it to be on the bottom layer, right-click on the component and select Change Side in the pop-up menu. Libraries can be shared in the Shared Libraries forum. 3D models can be shared in the Shared 3D models forum.

PostPosted: 17 Nov 2015, 08:25 

Hello Tomg