Author Message
 Post subject: How to define components with internal connections?
PostPosted: 07 Aug 2014, 14:38 
Offline

Joined: 23 Jun 2013, 05:20
Posts: 26
I wonder how to define components with internal connections correctly.

As an example, I added a picture of a switch from the default library. In the schematic view you can see that pins 1+2 and 3+4 are connected internally.
However this doesn't translate to a connection in the schematics. So you can either chose to connect the same signal to two pins (which doesn't make much sense) or to leave one pin open.
In the first case, you will have to connect both pins also in the PCB - which is counterproductive. In the 2nd case, you can't use the internal connection because the for DipTrace, this pin must be left unconnected.

As even the components delivered with DipTrace don't behave correctly here, I wonder if there is any way to define a component with internal connections correctly.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to define components with internal connections?
PostPosted: 08 Aug 2014, 05:18 
Online
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2760
DipTrace has facility to link one pin to two or more pads. If you use this kind of linking you should route all linked pads on board otherwise check net connectivity will report you about unrouted nets.
Other cases (routing either of concurrent pads, using internal connections as jumpers) are not supported in DipTrace.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to define components with internal connections?
PostPosted: 18 Mar 2016, 12:31 
Offline

Joined: 18 Mar 2016, 12:24
Posts: 1
Alex wrote:
... are not supported in DipTrace.

That's why diptrace is for free and they will never get a single Euro by me.

This ignorant behavior makes Autoroute function complete useless.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to define components with internal connections?
PostPosted: 22 Jun 2016, 07:12 
Offline

Joined: 10 Jan 2015, 02:00
Posts: 188
Location: Anaheim, CA 92806
Tekkx wrote:
Alex wrote:
... are not supported in DipTrace.

That's why diptrace is for free and they will never get a single Euro by me.

This ignorant behavior makes Autoroute function complete useless.


I am using Diptrace since many years and it has so far handled every design without affecting the size and shape.

_________________
PCB Manufacturing


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to define components with internal connections?
PostPosted: 03 Oct 2016, 00:21 
Offline

Joined: 23 Sep 2016, 22:31
Posts: 13
Is this still the case with Diptrace 3.x?

I still must define multiple pins on my components and connect them to each pin even though they are the same name? And then connect them in the schematic? And how does it affect auto-router?

Is there another way to do it in 3.x?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to define components with internal connections?
PostPosted: 04 Oct 2016, 05:50 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 939
marbol wrote:
"...Is this still the case with Diptrace 3.x?..."
Yes.

marbol wrote:
"...I still must define multiple pins on my components and connect them to each pin even though they are the same name?..."
Yes.

marbol wrote:
"...And then connect them in the schematic?..."
Yes.

marbol wrote:
"...And how does it affect auto-router?..."
Do you have a specific situation that you are worried about?

marbol wrote:
"...Is there another way to do it in 3.x?..."
Not that I am aware of. I suppose you could always group together pins that are internally connected (custom components) to make the schematic easier to draw and read. Of course, this method is not as elegant as the method used by other PCB design packages where one schematic component pin can represent multiple component PCB pads.

p.s. DipTrace needs to be changed so that any internally-connected pins drawn in the Component Editor do not produce a ratline or a Net Connectivity error between the corresponding pins in the PCB Layout. All internally-connected pins should, however, highlight in the Component, Schematic and PCB Layout editors when "mousing over" one of them or an externally-connected Net.


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to define components with internal connections?
PostPosted: 05 Oct 2016, 03:34 
Online
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2760
User can link one component pin to few pads while attaching a pattern to the component in Component editor. It makes the component nice looking because there is no need to have many pins with the same name.
When user route the component in PCB Layout he/she needs to route internal connections between component pins otherwise checking net connectivity will report errors.
Autorouter can route internal connections as well as any other connections.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 7 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group