Post subject: how to split net
PostPosted: 31 Jul 2017, 17:43 

hello!

i'm really new to this software, so probably i'm missing something...
as the title says, how can i split an existing wire net into 2 or more subnets?

i have a 5v power line, and on the same line there are low current components (ic, sensor, etc) but also there are some really high current parts (dc-dc booster, stepper driver, etc)

i need wide traces for the large current and narrow ones for the low current. i see that there are classes, and it is possible to create different rules, but this not resolves my problem.

as a quick workaround i "splitted" the nets adding 0R resistors, but this is not smart nor correct solution. (i searched the forum, youtube, google, but didn't find a method)

please advice me how to do this the pro way (step by step). sorry for the noob question. thanks!

Post subject: Re: how to split net
PostPosted: 01 Aug 2017, 06:15 
Expert

If you need to tie different Nets together without merging, then your method or a variation thereof is the only way to accomplish this in DipTrace. The developers have mentioned that they might add a feature similar to Altium's "Net Tie" in a future version, but there has been no official timeline announced for its implementation. One other method to consider is the use of different trace widths for the same Net. If that appeals to you, then here's how to do it...

Multiple trace widths on the same Net