Author Message
 Post subject: Copper pour on Vcc layer is connecting to GND
PostPosted: 15 Mar 2017, 13:09 
Offline

Joined: 03 Apr 2014, 22:49
Posts: 14
I'm hoping someone can explain to me how this is possible and how to remedy it. This board will obviously not work with Vcc and GND shorted...

In the attached screenshot you can clearly see that J4 pin 3 and J3 pin 12 are connected to the Vcc plane. These pins are quite obviously GND pins and are indicated as so by any other method used.
Even with these pins disconnected in the schematic and the the layout renewed and pour updated, these pins are connecting to both GND and Vcc planes..

Attachment:
diptrace-wtf-1.png


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Copper pour on Vcc layer is connecting to GND
PostPosted: 15 Mar 2017, 14:12 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 944
1) Right-click on the pad in question and choose Thermal Settings... in the pop-up menu.
2) If the Use Custom Settings option is enabled, check to see if Connect: is set to "Yes". If it is, this will force a connection to the copper plane regardless of the Net structure. This option was probably created for those not using a schematic. The normal setting is "By Pour".
3) Re-pour copper pours.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Copper pour on Vcc layer is connecting to GND
PostPosted: 15 Mar 2017, 16:19 
Offline

Joined: 03 Apr 2014, 22:49
Posts: 14
:D Thank you.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group