Author Message
 Post subject: No Graphic when placing Part
PostPosted: 08 Feb 2017, 11:13 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 11 Oct 2016, 17:04
Posts: 18
Location: NSW, Australia
Hi
I have just found that when I manually enter a Part from a Library to a PCB I do not see any Graphic (Outline) to help with placement.
All I get is a small white square.
Have I tuned something off or what?? Design Manager is On and ALL layers are checked.

Thanks again for any help

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No Graphic when placing Part
PostPosted: 08 Feb 2017, 16:21 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 940
Are you talking about the silkscreen? If so, then here are a couple of things to check if you are viewing a layer different from the one on which the component resides...
* If the Layer Display Mode is set to Current Only, the silkscreen on non-selected layers will be suppressed.
* Copper pours residing on the viewed layer will cover over and hide the silkscreen on other layers.

If this doesn't help, and you are able, please post a screen shot of the problem area.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No Graphic when placing Part
PostPosted: 08 Feb 2017, 16:52 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: 11 Oct 2016, 17:04
Posts: 18
Location: NSW, Australia
Hi Tom

Thanks for the quick response AGAIN :o It's good to see somebody with a bit of expertise on a forum that gives quick responses to new people like me.

After receiving your reply I had a look at various settings in the top toolbar.
When I selected View, I saw Place Component Preview. This was unchecked. :oops:
As soon as I checked it and placed a component manually the the outline appeared.
I obviously turned it off sometime without realising it. :lol:

So thanks yet again for the help. :D

Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No Graphic when placing Part
PostPosted: 08 Feb 2017, 17:07 
Offline
Expert

Joined: 20 Jun 2015, 14:39
Posts: 940
Hi Mike,
Thanks for the information. I think that's a new one for me, but if I had ever looked at that setting it would have been years ago.

_________________
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: No Graphic when placing Part
PostPosted: 25 Apr 2017, 04:41 
Offline

Joined: 28 Feb 2017, 04:56
Posts: 4
Thanks guys for the bundle of information here.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group