Author Message
 Post subject: Positioning of net name
PostPosted: 24 Jan 2013, 13:55 
Offline

Joined: 06 Jan 2012, 03:20
Posts: 87
When I "display name" for a net, the displayed text seems to come up with a random position with respect to the grid. Is there some switch I haven't found that will cause it to be consistent? It's not a big deal, but the schematic looks nicer if the leading edge of the names down a long line of nets coming off a part all line up with their leading edge aligned. Yes, I can set a fine grid or turn the grid off and align them by hand, but it would be a lot nicer if their "handle" was always the same place, like at the lower left edge of the text or perhaps the middle of the left edge. (The fancy Mentor system I used to use would let me set both horizontal (left, center, right) and vertical (bottom, center, top) justification of any text on the schematic...probably don't need that, just would like it to be consistent.)

Or...maybe someone can tell me that there's already an easy way to get that to happen.

While I'm on the topic of displayed net names...it would be nice, when you move a segment with a displayed name, if the name moved with it, as it does with text associated with a component when you move the component. I realize it's a bit more complicated, because the length of the segment may also change, but still, having text left behind causes more work at a minimum, and the potential to have a stray name end up near some other net you place later if you failed to move it.

_________________
Cheers,
Tom


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Positioning of net name
PostPosted: 25 Jan 2013, 08:47 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2762
These look like feature request. We will cosider both functions with our team.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Positioning of net name
PostPosted: 29 Apr 2013, 00:44 
Offline

Joined: 28 Apr 2013, 22:29
Posts: 2
I want to second this one as a feature request.

Having the ability to align the net names would be great. Another CAD system I often work with has several "align" features. For example; select several net names and then choose "align left justify", "align right justify" or "align centers". This make the schematics look really tidy and is appreciated by the customer.

Also, having the net name move when the net is repositioned would also be great. Makes for a lot less time if things need to be rearranged.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 3 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group