Author Message
 Post subject: Changing 'Part Type' instance quirk
PostPosted: 25 Jul 2010, 17:22 
Offline

Joined: 25 Jul 2010, 17:06
Posts: 4
I am drawing a schematic with TTL gates (74LS07), which has 6 parts in a single package. After I have some of the gates wired up, I want to change the order of the gates without disconnecting them. I tried to do so by changing the 'Part RefDes' and 'Part Type' attributes of the gate. When I do so, the Part RefDes changes, but the pin numbers don't change to match the new 'Part Type' attribute I have set, even thought the 'Part Type' is actually set. For example, I changed Part Type from 1 to 3 on a 74LS07 and the pin numbers for the gate are still (1,2) instead of (5,6).

Even worse to the point of being unusable in this instance is that all of the other gates with the same RefDes attribute (74LS07 in this example) have their Part RefDes values incremented by 1 (even though the pin numbers don't change on them).

Any suggestions?

DISCLAIMER: I'm a DipTrace newbie


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Changing 'Part Type' instance quirk
PostPosted: 25 Jul 2010, 19:21 
Offline

Joined: 19 Jul 2010, 16:33
Posts: 126
It would be handy if there were such a gate swap command.

I would just disconnect the wires to each, move the gates, and reconnect the wires. I also had mixed success in trying to change the designations to accomplish this. It was easier and much more predictable to do the disconnect, move, connect.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 2 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group