Author Message
 Post subject: Labeling
PostPosted: 08 Apr 2014, 17:59 
Offline

Joined: 20 Dec 2013, 16:09
Posts: 4
OK, I'm ready for the flaming, because this is a real basic question, but I can't find the answer any where in the manual or forums, and I've tried everything I know.

when labeling components or laying down text I need to use the ohm symbol (Ω). It seems like a pretty basic thing so I've gotta believe it's me and not the program, but I cannot find a way to type it in or even cut and paste from another program.

Am I that stupid?...apparently, yes


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Labeling
PostPosted: 08 Apr 2014, 20:49 
Offline

Joined: 22 Feb 2014, 22:49
Posts: 26
Actually in all CAD programs it is common practise to use "R" instead of the ohm symbol Ω. :)

A few examples: 10kR, 3k3R or 3.3kR, 1kR, 180R, 10R etc. Sometimes people leave out the R entirely as it is well known that it is a resistor based on the symbol used.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Labeling
PostPosted: 09 Apr 2014, 14:42 
Offline

Joined: 11 Jun 2013, 11:12
Posts: 76
Unfortunately, the Greek Omega symbol is not part of the standard 255 character ASCII map.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Labeling
PostPosted: 11 Apr 2014, 17:26 
Offline

Joined: 20 Dec 2013, 16:09
Posts: 4
Our last schematic program had this and consistency would have been nice. Maybe add in new version?


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group