HELP!! Looking for a part!

"How-to" questions from new engineers and designers. Please ask and respond here.
Deafcult

HELP!! Looking for a part!

#1 Post by Deafcult » 09 Jul 2017, 15:35

Hello I'm new to this so apologies if my question is common or irritating! I am trying to design a schematic but can't find a part. What is the symbol code for one of these?

http://www.taydaelectronics.com/10k-ohm ... mount.html

Tomg
Expert

Re: HELP!! Looking for a part!

#2 Post by Tomg » 15 Jul 2017, 04:16

I was unable to find it in the standard DipTrace libraries so I made a basic dual potentiometer for you using the supplied datasheet. This is a two-part component that will allow you to place each of the two potentiometers in different locations on the schematic if necessary. Since I have never used this component on a PCB, I cannot guarantee a proper fit or fire resistance. Double-check all connections and dimensions before using. The attached file named Alpha.eli is a component library containing the dual potentiometer created using DipTrace v3.1. (If you have an older version of DipTrace and need to import an ASCII file instead, let me know.) Here's how to move the component into one of your custom libraries...

Adding the new component library to the desktop
1) Save the new component library file to the desktop.
2) In the Component Editor select the Other Libraries group.
3) Click on the Library Tools box and select Add Library to "Other Libraries"... in the fly-out menu.
4) In the Add Library to "Other Libraries" Group dialog window enable [X]Add from File and click on the [...] button.
5) In the Open dialog window navigate to the desktop, select the new component library and click on the [Open] button.
6) In the Add Library to "Other Libraries" Group dialog window select OK. You should now see the new component library appear in the Other Libraries group list.

Inserting the new component(s) into another library