Post subject: Creating a new LED pattern and component
PostPosted: 15 Jul 2016, 10:48 

Hello DipTrace Community,

I am pretty new to PCB Designing and Engineering. But I am trying to build a particular LED circuit and I am trying to use a specific LED for the design. Is there an easy way to import or create a pattern for the Luxeon Rebel LED? It is a LED with great performance but it is a complicated design with many thermal vias and an intricate shape for the pads. Are these thermal vias only necessary for boards without heatsinks? I am attaching a link to see the LED below. I also have a .dxf file from Luxeon on the LED, but the best I can tell it imports it like a Gerber would and doesn't act like a pattern when I do it. Any help is much appreciated, thanks in advance!

http://www.lumileds.com/uploads/252/AB32-pdf

Post subject: Re: Creating a new LED pattern and component
PostPosted: 21 Jul 2016, 11:55 
Expert

jerenkholman wrote:
"...Are these thermal vias only necessary for boards without heatsinks?..."
Section 3.2 of the Luxeon datasheet states "...Thermal vias are the primary method of heat transportation to the heat sink at the PCB bottom..."

In other words, a thermally-connected heatsink is needed on the opposite side of the PCB to keep what I presume is a 3W LED from destroying itself. Don't rely on the PCB alone to dissipate that much power/heat from such a small area. A cursory scan of the datasheet leads me to believe that the LED's thermal landing pad is electrically isolated, which should make designing that area of the PCB a bit easier unless you start playing around with high voltage series LED strings.