DipTrace Forum
http://www.diptrace.com/forum/

What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?
http://www.diptrace.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=11080
Page 1 of 1

Author:  melk0r [ 19 May 2016, 08:17 ]
Post subject:  What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?

I wasn't able to import my logo correctly, so I've been recommended to ask here what is the best way to do it.
I have a few questions:

- I have my logo in a .ai (illustrator) file. When I export the logo as DXF, and import it from diptrace its the same what layer I chose, once I click "Import", nothing happen. What is the recommended DXF settings to export from Illustrator to Diptrace?

- In the case of rendered images, I think Diptrace doesnt support transparency on .TIFF files.

What is the best way to carry a logo (from vectorized or rasterized) to diptrace while keeping the transparency?
Maybe importing it on kicad and exporting it from there in some format supported by diptrace? it sounds really overkill.

Thank you in advance for your help.
Cheers,

Author:  Jiisuki [ 20 May 2016, 03:08 ]
Post subject:  Re: What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?

The way I've done it is by converting the logo to a black and white bitmap (.bmp). Then the white will be transparent.
However, it doesn't appear transparent at first when put on the silkscreen layer for instance, but the 3D preview and manufacturing output will be correct.

Author:  melk0r [ 21 May 2016, 00:27 ]
Post subject:  Re: What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?

OMG I cant believe it was so simple as "the white will be transparent" :/
I really appreciate your help man! Your answer was really helpful and I've been able to import my design as grayscale bmp with white background.

Is this documented somewhere? Or is it a common behavior in this type of applications?

Regards,

Author:  Jiisuki [ 24 May 2016, 17:40 ]
Post subject:  Re: What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?

I believe I found it out by trial and error, just found a folder called silkscreenPCB full of different colour combinations on my logo..
It may be in the documentation, but I'm very bad at looking into help files..

Glad I could help!

Author:  Techno Tronix [ 04 Jun 2016, 02:18 ]
Post subject:  Re: What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?

Try silkscreen layer. It may helpful.

-- 13 Jun 2016, 00:31 --

You can also try with EAGLE Layout Editor.

Author:  Molly [ 24 Jun 2016, 01:50 ]
Post subject:  Re: What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?

I agree. You can Add Custom Graphics to EAGLE PCB Layouts.

Author:  Jhon Miller [ 03 Dec 2016, 10:38 ]
Post subject:  Re: What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?

The way I've done it is by converting the logo to a black and white bitmap (.bmp). Then the white will be transparent.

Author:  Jhon Miller [ 04 Dec 2016, 01:55 ]
Post subject:  Re: What is the best option to put a Logo into the board?

I understand I found it out by experiment and wrong, just gained a pamphlet called silkscreenPCB full of various value successions on my logo.

Page 1 of 1 All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
http://www.phpbb.com/