Post subject: Copper pour and grid questions
PostPosted: 19 May 2016, 05:21 

Hi, I'm new to Diptrace and I'm looking for some help with the Cooper pour and Grid features.

I have a relatively small board (60mm x 50mm - 2.3" x 2") and I would like to add a pour (I used to know it as fill) in small areas.

However, when I try to add the pour, I'm finding it very difficult to fill right up to the traces.

Also - when moving components, I find the cursor movement very coarse, to the point where I'm struggling to line parts up.

I have tried the usual trick of holding the shift of control key whilst dragging but this doesn't help.

I have attached a picture of my board to show the fill issue. Ideally, I want to completely fill all the areas that are marked with the red borders.

I may be approaching this completely wrong, and if I am then please guide me.

Thanks,
Tony.

You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post subject: Re: Copper pour and grid questions
PostPosted: 20 May 2016, 05:13 
Expert

TonyA wrote:
"...Ideally, I want to completely fill all the areas that are marked with the red borders..."

If you need to fill up the voids between your traces, draw pours instead and assign them to the desired Nets. If you need to place pours between the traces without connecting, draw pour outlines on or near the traces and make sure they are not assigned to the same Nets as those traces.

Setting up multiple grid sizes
In the Main Menu select View, in the drop-down menu select Customize Grid... and in the Customize Grid dialog window, add the desired grid sizes.

Choosing different grid sizes
Use the hotkey combinations Ctrl + or Ctrl - to scroll through the grid sizes set up in the step above.

Fine cursor movement
Temporarily turn off the grid. The grid can be toggled on/off by pressing softkey F11. Be aware that the snap function only works when the grid is on.

Precise placement of copper pour