Author Message
 Post subject: Dedicated Planes
PostPosted: 01 Mar 2015, 21:57 
Offline

Joined: 01 Mar 2015, 21:46
Posts: 5
I have designed a 4 layer board using PCB Creator from Bay Area Circuits, which is DipTrace "lite": top layer is signal, 2 is power (3.3V assigned to the plane plus two pours of other voltages), 3 is GND and 4 is bottom signal. The PCB agrees with the schematic using the verification tool, no drc errors. However, it appears that no GND or 3.3V vias/through hole pins are connected together. The pours are OK.

Do you have to manually pour the planes to which a net has been assigned? If so, this is the first PCB design software I have used that requires that, one would have to ask why the option is given to assign a net to a plane in that case. I've spent a bit of time researching this, verified the names of my planes and the net they are assigned to and right-clicked vias listed as in error, they all show connection to the proper net. I have used static vias throughout, the board was routed manually.

Any help greatly appreciated.

-Bill


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dedicated Planes
PostPosted: 04 Mar 2015, 05:14 
Offline
Technical Support

Joined: 14 Jun 2010, 06:43
Posts: 2762
You should add copper pours on plane layers and assign these copper pours to corresponding nets GND and 3.3V. Then all connection lines will automatically disappear. If you modify board, you will need to update these copper pours.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dedicated Planes
PostPosted: 05 Mar 2015, 10:47 
Offline

Joined: 01 Mar 2015, 21:46
Posts: 5
Thanks for the confirmation. They should remove the net assignment from the layer dialogs, or fix it so that if you assign a net to a layer it connects it... Overall a minor annoyance.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Dedicated Planes
PostPosted: 30 Nov 2015, 06:54 
Offline

Joined: 10 Jan 2015, 02:00
Posts: 188
Location: Anaheim, CA 92806
On many of small 2-layer boards, we use a ground pour on both the top and bottom. Where an "island" would be created on the bottom, I use vias to connect it to the same ground potential on the top layer. You can move traces, vias and components around to prevent most of these islands, but inevitably you will probably have to use additional GND vias to keep them from becoming isolated.

_________________
PCB Manufacturing


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group