Author Message
 Post subject: How to have separated ground pours for analog and digital
PostPosted: 15 Jun 2010, 19:03 
Offline

Joined: 15 Jun 2010, 18:34
Posts: 12
Location: Italy
Well... I write the first message in the forum, with a suggestion that was asked often in the old forum.

In several analog - as well as RF - circuits you need to separate various ground areas, to be connected in one point, possibly with a star configuration.
If you put two copper pours and join them with a trace, Diptrace assign both of them to the same netlist. This is not what we want.

Instead, put a zero Ohm resistor across the pours: this way, netlists remain separated, but from the electrical point of view you obtain the desired result.

_________________
"Scusate l'errore! E' che io questa convenzione dei segni non l'ho mai capita"
"Sorry for the mistake! Fact is, I still can't grab this current's sign convention"

(G.A. - assistant professor - lesson of theory of electronics)


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to have separated ground pours for analog and digita
PostPosted: 24 Jun 2013, 15:34 
Offline

Joined: 24 Jun 2013, 15:17
Posts: 30
I did this by creating a 'link' component that was just an 0603 with the 2 pads joined together by a track. This achieves the same as the author suggested but allows the analog and digital grounds to be 2 separate nets without needing an actual resistor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to have separated ground pours for analog and digita
PostPosted: 18 Aug 2016, 11:53 
Offline

Joined: 17 Aug 2016, 08:00
Posts: 1
Tedward wrote:
I did this by creating a 'link' component that was just an 0603 with the 2 pads joined together by a track. This achieves the same as the author suggested but allows the analog and digital grounds to be 2 separate nets without needing an actual resistor.



yeah! me too.. I also created link and same goes with yours, it allows the analog and digital grounds to be separated w/o actual resistor.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to have separated ground pours for analog and digita
PostPosted: 23 Sep 2017, 09:51 
Offline

Joined: 05 Jun 2013, 19:03
Posts: 12
Could someone please post an example of this. I'm just not understanding this from the description.

Is this done in the Component editor?
How do I connect it in the schematic?

THanks


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: How to have separated ground pours for analog and digita
PostPosted: 23 Sep 2017, 14:44 
Offline

Joined: 18 Dec 2015, 15:35
Posts: 160
A problem I have is the software delete nets with a single pin:
Attachment:
grounds.jpg

Which results in this:
Attachment:
grounds1.jpg


Notice the two pins without nets have a larger gap on the copper pour?
Why did DT decide to drop the ground connections? ERROR: Single pin in net: Net1, C3:1 / Net 2, C1:2

Update: Added a connector to get GND signals and tied the two grounds together with a simple trace in PCBeditor, no errors and the Gerber looks good.
Attachment:
ground2.jpg


You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 5 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 5 hours [ DST ]


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group