Post subject: Designing and Manufacturing with Surface Mount Parts
PostPosted: 04 Mar 2011, 10:57 

The company I work for is switching over to designing and producing products with SMD instead of through hole components. I have little to no experience with designing with surface mount parts. I was hoping some one could help me out with a few questions...

The question I have is I have designed a PCB with 1206 type resistors and I used the recommecded footprint for wavesoldering, I later found out that the company that will be doing the assembly and soldering uses reflow for a soldering process.

Can components with footprints for wavesoldering be soldered using reflow? Or am I going to have malfunctioning PCBs when its all done because of bad soldering?

Post subject: Re: Designing and Manufacturing with Surface Mount Parts
PostPosted: 07 Mar 2011, 01:10 

Can you send me the dimensions of the footprint? We don't do a whole lot of wave-soldering optimized footprints (we are a CM). I'm guessing that you will be ok. The assembler may need to control the amount of solder paste printed before pick and place.

Vetsen

Post subject: Re: Designing and Manufacturing with Surface Mount Parts
PostPosted: 08 Mar 2011, 10:43 

units are in mm

wave soldering pattern
Pad x 1.1
pad y 1.7
distance between pads 2.5
overall size outside pad to outside pad 4.7

reflow pattern
Pad x 1.0
pad y 1.5
distance between pads 2.2
overall size outside pad to outside pad 4.2

actual comp size
Pad x .4
pad y 1.6
distance between pads 2.3
overall size outside pad to outside pad 3.1

The component is a Yageo 1206 resistor chip.

-- 08 Mar 2011, 08:59 --